Southwest White Bean Chicken Chili

I used to call this my white chicken chili, except I am looking at the pictures and guess what?

It just struck me that this isn’t really white chili at all, so I changed the name.

It is hotter than Hades and the humidity is crazy (for the desert).

I feel like I am suffocating.

But it is pre-season football and time to make chili.

You could use canned chicken if you had too, but it is just as easy to simmer a couple of breasts and shred them up. I buy the bone in breasts when they are 99 cents a pound, cook them all and then portion them into freezer bags for future use. Makes life a little easier.

I am super organized.

Except that my whole fridge dying thing really put a cramp in my frozen food storage because of course I had cooked up a big batch of chicken the week before we left.

Gone.

Like the wind.

Not with the wind.

My super favoritest movie of all time! Oh, I dream of being Scarlett and prancing about with my hoop skirts and big hats. I could be a belle and drink sweet tea and eat barbeque with Charles Wilkes and the Tarleton boys and all the girls would hate me.

But no, I live here in the suffocating heat of the desert with Mr. Right who is currently gloating over the return of the treacherous traitor of the North.

I would not eat barbeque with either one of them.

Gag.

This is where it stops being white chili.

Use the cheapest store brand salsa they have. Don’t go all Daddy Warbucks and buy the Pace.

Generic will do nicely.

Don’t cheap out on the beer though.

I always use a bottle of beer in my chili recipes. It gives it a little extra something.

Plus you can take a swig before you add it to the pot.

Yahtzee!

Get the Great White Northern beans or whatever they are called.  NOT chick peas!

How can nasty little chick peas turn into super amazingly delicious hummus?

HOW?

I love Hummus.

Green Chilis. Love ’em. Again, the cheap brand works just fine.

Cover and simmer for about 45 minutes.

While it is simmering, you need to shred up some monterey jack. Monterey Jack has super meltability properties and works best in this recipe. Please don’t use cheddar or colby or anything else. You really need to use MJ in this recipe.

Shred up about two cups worth.

P.S. Shredded cheese freezes very well, so if you buy a big block, shred the whole thing and freeze it along with the extra chicken for the next time you make this.

Because there will be a next time.

Really, this is incredible tasting.

Let it simmer another half hour or so after you add the cheese. Stir it every 5-10 minutes to distribute the cheese.

I threw a can of black beans in at the last minute because it needed more guts and I was out of white beans and we have already established that chick peas are not a suitable substitute.

You could throw some sour cream on top and some tortilla chip strips.

Serve it up at the next big game.

GO PACK GO!

White Bean Chicken Chili

2 cups chopped/shredded cooked chicken

2 cups chicken broth

1- 1/2 cup salsa (NOT pico de gallo)

1 12 oz beer

1 can diced green chili’s

2-3 cans Great White Northern Beans

Mix everything except the Jack cheese together in a big pot. You can add more beans/chicken if you like more guts and less broth.

Bring it to a boil and then lower heat to a simmer for about 45 minutes.

Add the jack cheese and keep it on low another 1/2 hour or so, stirring every 5-10 minutes.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Southwest White Bean Chicken Chili

  1. Pingback: Mr. Right’s Favorite Cornbread « Feels Like Time

  2. Stephanie Seibert says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this chili reciepe! & Janice too! Thanks for getting this RIGHT out to me! U r the BEST! 🙂

Leave a Reply

