Perfect Peach Apple Crisp

School has still not started.

Seriously.

Summer vacation never lasted FOREVAH when I was a kid.

Ridiculous.

Wish I could say it was the crisp cool air that inspired this recipe, but that would be a big fat lie considering it is 87 degrees right now at 7am.

Oh well, anytime is a good time for crisp, I always say. Just load it up with ice cream to cool you off.

Speaking of ice cream, I am having quite the love affair with it lately. Thankfully I have kept up shredding with Jillian the beast, so my pants are not digging into my flesh too badly, but I really need to lay off the ice cream.

Oh.

But I love it so.

I could eat it every day for every meal and never get sick of it. Now some of you are thinking that I would eventually get bored with ice cream, and move on to something else like black jellybeans or peeps.  I am telling you right now that NO, I would never tire of that delicious melty creamy cold feeling of eating ice cream. I would have Tin Roof Sundae for breakfast, Banana Split flavor for lunch and Oatmeal Cookie Crunch for dinner. And while I might throw in a Chocolate shake or a Drumstick here or there for variety, I can assure you that I would not get ice cream burnout.

Ever.

But I am not likely to become an icecreamatarian anytime soon because then I couldn’t share delicious recipes like this with you!

And this really is the best crisp recipe you will ever find.

Honest.

The topping is generally the best part of the crisp.

This recipe has the proper ratio of fruit to topping. In case you are wondering the ratio it is:

Fruit- alot

Topping- a tremendous amount

Of course there are some people in this world who favor the fruit more and so their recipes are likely to be ‘topping light’.

I don’t actually know any of these people, I have just heard they exist.

They probably also drink decaf and wear skinny jeans. All mass measures of inappropriateness in my book.

YES.

There is really no way around the fact that topping must be mixed by hand.

Ok. What is up with my super wrinkly thumb???

It is grossing me out a little bit.

Throw a couple more shakes of cinnamon over the top. Just to be safe.

Cover every little millimeter with topping.

Better a wrinkly thumb than a wrinkly butt I guess…..

This recipe is for an 8 x 8 or a pie dish. Glass works better for crisp. Must have something to do with heat conducting properties.

Looks almost the same coming out of the oven as it does going in.

Serve it with plain vanilla bean ice cream. Don’t worry if the bottom seems ‘juicy’, just spoon up all the extra juice and get it in your bowl as fast as you can.

This will not disappoint you like Brett Favre does.

Promise.

GO PACK GO!

P.S. Shout out to my beautiful friend Kathy that I got to visit with this past week! I love and miss you & Tom. Wish you would all move back here!

Perfect Peach Apple Crisp

(These measurements are for an 8 x 8 or glass pie dish. If you want to make a 9 x 13 version, simply double the recipe)

3 large ripe peaches

3 large ripe apples (I used golden delicious in this recipe, but it really doesn’t matter, except NOT red delicious. They are too soft.)

1/4 Cup white sugar

Lotsa shakes of cinnamon

3/4 Cup brown sugar

3/4 Cup white flour (you could sub whole wheat, don’t know why I didn’t think of that)

3/4 Cup quick cook oats

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 stick of soft butter (You could use up to 3/4 a stick if you like your topping ‘wetter’ and less crumbly)

More cinnamon

Peel and dice the apples and peaches right into your glass dish (Make sure to use glass)

Mix diced fruit with 1/4 cup sugar and shake a bunch of cinnamon in there too.

Mix together the brown sugar, flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder and more cinnamon. Add the butter and mic by hand until crumbly.

Sprinkle evenly over entire surface of fruit.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Fall in love.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Perfect Peach Apple Crisp

  1. sue says:

    Just wanted to compliment you on how nice your pictures are of the ingredients. You create a really nice display, very artistic.
    My kids are very fond of my crisp, though I have done just apples and apples and cranberries. Looks like I will have to try this variety too. Glad to see that you put oats in yours also. I think oats are what elevates a really good crisp.Plus, we are on the same page with regards to the fruit and crisp ratio. No skinny jeans here for many, many years.

    I am going to check out your other posts about apple crisp. My reading for the evening.

    Oh, and school can take allllllllll the time it wants getting here. I am not ready to go back yet. I know, what a baby.

    • Janice says:

      Sometimes I will throw a pear or two in there as well. Kinda like making sangria–just use up all the fruit that is laying around. Well, except bananas.

  2. Kathy T says:

    Thanks Janice! You are awesome as usual! How appropriate that you mention us in the “apple blog” as we have a trillon of them here in Washington. Can’t wait to try this one out. Love you too. Hope it isn’t too long before our next visit :O)

  3. Jill says:

    so cool someone else thinks like me too. Looking to use up all the fruit lying around and when is not a good time to have ice cream! thanks, Jill

Leave a Reply

