A Chip Off The Old McCoy

Really great thrift day last week.  I have lots of treasures to share and am linking up with Southern Hospitality and Apron Thrift Girl. Visit them to see more amazing and inspiring stories of thrifty treasure.

I only had about two hours to dig because Mr. Right had to leave early for work and of course shcool is STILL out for summer.

And again. What the heck? How come summer went by in a minute when I was a kid, but now that I have 3 kids of my own, summer just NEVER ends.

Never.

Ever.

And I am ready for fall people. It is my favorite time of year. My birthday, pumpkins, fall colors, temperatures below 117, Halloween, Halloween candy, chili, Packer football, etc.

Why can’t fall last as long as summer?

‘Cause this little guy wants to be displayed! He was $2.

Vintage McDonalds Hamburgler goodness! I will use these for the kids to make sparkly apple cider floats while we watch The Great Pumpkin. Praise the heavens that there were 3! I scoured around for a 4th one, but couldn’t find it. Maybe next week. 49 cents each.

Moving ahead to another of my favorite holidays, we have these gift card tin holder thingy’s. They are all new with original retail tag of $2.49-$2.99. These are great for teacher gift cards and also niece & nephews. Worth 49 cents apiece for sure. The two in the middle play music. Super special.

Vintage Cookie Cutters.

My mom had all these. Not sure what the spade and rabbit signify in terms of Christmas icons, but we made them every year. Looking forward to using these with my kids. Although we all know that I will get this grand idea for decorating cookies while sipping cider and playing  jolly music in the background and the reality will be a fistfighting over cookie cutters, ear shattering screaming twisted mess and I will have to drink a bottle of wine to survive it and then spend an hour and a half getting frosting and sprinkles off the floor.

Speaking of ear shattering screaming twisted messes, I found all the birthday supplies for Spike’s next party. Also found the Little Nemo goodies which we used last night for Sassy’s birthday.  At my thrift they have this wall of stuff that is bagged together. Hundreds of bags holding different goodies. That’s where I found all this. It was like Grab bag heaven. I paid $3 or $4 for everything, can’t quite remember.

YAY! $4 each. Oh my loverly (not a typo) vintage pyrex bowls. They are both in the new fridge right now. The yellow one is holding watermelon and the red one is full of green grapes.

We are certainly covering a wide spectrum of holidays aren’t we? Couldn’t pass this little guy up even though he was a bit pricey at $6. I think he will look grand sitting on the bar for St. Paddy’s Day. Maybe he will act as muscle and keep the sneaky peeky naughty ones away.

A face that only a mother could love.

Hoffman Distilling Co. from 1973. Bet he was full of whiskey at some point in his life (Haven’t we all been?). He plays “When Irish Eyes Are Smiling”.

Another old picture (think it’s a watercolor?) with an authentic chippy, shabby frame. $5

This is going on top of our armoire in one of those picture holder stand things. Similar to a plate holder stand thing, but for pictures.

Get it?

Looks like this place is still in business.

New spring pajamas for Sassy. $2

Some new Sassy shoes too. Am I the only person on the planet that has a two year old who knows what “Skeshers” are?  Thanks to her big brother and sister of course. $3

These will go on ebay. Check out the hair do. Very Elizabeth Montgomery.

Oooooh I love Bewitched. I am going to do a whole Bewitched post one of these days.

Yellow is my favorite color. It is just the happiest color ever.

Happy Happy Happy.

Broken winged birds, not so happy. Bummer. But I couldn’t leave it there. I gladly took it home for $4.

This is where she lives now.

This was the last find of the day. Saw them hanging on the end of the rack like someone took a peak and them threw them back wherever. I have found some of my best stuff on the end of a rack. I took a closer look and saw that the retail tag was still attached. Thrift store price was $9

Drumroll.

Double Drumroll.

And they fit.

Perfectly.

Good thing I’ve been shredding.

Have a fabulous week!  Hoping the temperatures drop below 150 here. The forecast calls for Brilliant Hot Sunshine today and Sizzling Hot Sunshine tomorrow. What do you suppose the difference is?

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Chip Off The Old McCoy

  1. Kristin says:

    Wow, you really scored!

  2. dogsmom says:

    This post made me smile. Starting off with the ghost and going through memories of cookie cutters (the spade was part of a playing card symbol set) and continuing with your “I couldn’t leave it there” comment.

    You had a very good weekend.

    As soon as my computer starts to play nicer I have a major score to share but I think it will be closer to the weekend.

  3. Leah says:

    Love the pyrex bowls! Other finds are great as well … Happy Thrifting! :o)

  4. Leah says:

    Consider putting buttons on your blog site to your Ebay and other shops. Just a thought. :o)

  5. Love those Pyrex bowls – they look just like the ones my grandmother had. Great deal on those jeans too! Wow!

  6. Shara says:

    I love McCoy pottery, even with chips!

  7. grooviemom says:

    I have a lot of those same cookie cutters. Of course they were handed down from my mom, who probably got them from her mom…

  8. Laura says:

    Great bargains – the Pyrex bowls are amazing!

  9. Erin says:

    Visiting from Southern Hospitality –

    Great finds – especially the Pyrex! What a steal!

  10. Pam says:

    Great McCoy find!!! I’m with you on Bewitched. It is my favorite program. Does it bother you that their house’s outside doesn’t match the the apparent floorplan of the upstairs rooms though. It always bugged me as a kid and there’s even a guy who has a website devoted to just that. Just google “Bewitched House Floor Plan”. Anyhow, just had to throw that in there!

  11. Pingback: Death Of A Cupcake « Feels Like Time

  12. La says:

    The ghost is wonderful. I love fall too. I have the same yellow bowl. It’s great for mixing cookie dough! Looks like you had a very successful week of thrifting.

    Have a great weekend! La

Leave a Reply

