Death Of A Cupcake

Doom.

Despair.

Agony on me…………

Sorry for the dark pictures. I was making these delectable yellow cupcakes late at night for Sassy’s birthday.

I was so excited to use my new pyrex bowl. The red one is hard at work in the refrigerator holding the grapes.

I lurve it!

So I am super excited to be making yellow cake with chocolate frosting, because in my book that is perfection!

8 egg yolks were needed! E-I-G-H-T!

Super frugal that I am, I saved the whites in little containers. Because you know in addition to being a frugalite, I am also a health freak.

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

No, but really I always start off healthy in the morning (with egg whites & salsa) and move to HFC overload about mid afternoon.

Maybe this is where I went wrong. The recipe was one of those annoying ones that instructs you too add the eggs one at a time.

I went all egg rebel and threw them in together.

I am thinking it looks just fine despite the mass addition of egg yolks.

I sucked it up and alternated adding the dry ingredients and then the milk.

I am not that much of a rebel.

This was the most beautiful batter. So much lovelier and thicker than Betty Crocker’s

And ok. Maybe I licked my finger and stuck it back in the batter.

Just kidding.

Kind of.

But not really.

I NEVAH can get 24 cupcakes out of a batch of batter.

EVAH.

Who do I have to call on to get this secret?

Yoda?

Mr. Miyagi?

Jesus?

WHO?

Can I just rabbit trail for 15 seconds and say that I could never really quite ‘get’ Arnold from Happy Days all of a sudden becoming some Kung Fu master.

Like Arnold, where in the world did you learn to karate chop? did the Fonz teach you that before he jumped over the shark?

‘Cause if he did, could you also maybe ask him how in the hello to get 24 cupcakes out of a standard batch of batter?

Ayyyyyyyyyy

I forgot to preheat the oven and so they had to set around for 10 minutes. Maybe this caused some sort of chemical reaction in the batter or maybe this particular recipe is not meant to be turned into cupcakes.

Burnt black in the little paper cups, they did.

Doom.

Despair.

Agony on me.

So we went with the old box of Betty C. after all.

But I still mourned the loss of my cupcake pretties.

In case you want to attempt this as a larger cake here is the recipe I used.

Tempting, I know.

YELLOW  CAKE NOT CUPCAKES

1 Cup butter

1 1/2 Cup sugar

8 (E-I-G-H-T) egg yolks

3/4 Cup milk

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups cake flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour 2 – 8 inch round pans. Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg yolks one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the milk, mixing just until incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake in the preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes, or until tops spring back when lightly tapped. Cool 15 minutes before turning out onto cooling racks.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Death Of A Cupcake

  1. Kristin says:

    What a shame that the cupcakes didn’t work out. That batter looked wonderful!

  2. Debbie says:

    Ok, so why were they so bad? You could still eat them right? Not sure why they weren’t good enough for Sassy’s big day? Just cut off the edges, would probably fall off, that would take off the little tiny burnt edges, and frost. Frosting can cover all kinds of wrong!

Leave a Reply

