Loverly Chicken & Pasta

Ok.

I just have to get this off my chest.

HALLEH-FREAKING-LUIAH.

School.

Starts.

MONDAY.

Pheeeeeeeeeeeew. (That is a Jim Carreyesque whooshing relieved sigh type of sound. Very hard to spell.)

Anyways. You should make this pasta dish to celebrate. Or maybe your kids started already so you really have reason to rejoice.

OR.

Maybe your kids don’t start back until after Labor Day and so you really need some comfort food to distract yourself from the pain.

And if that is the case, you should definitely serve this with a big bottle of wine!

Not that I don’t love my kids you see. It’s just that sometimes I really feel like I could run them over with a tractor just to shut them up.

Did I just type that out loud?

I don’t even have a tractor.

OH! I love my Juice O Mat that I found at the thrift store. I do believe it is one of my most favorite thrift store finds.

EVAH.

WHY did they ever stop manufacturing this handy kitchen implement? I seriously believe you could get blood from a turnip with one of these.

While the pasta is boiling, chop your basil and slice up your chicken.

All good things start with butter.

And cream.

Add your pasta.

Lots of basil

More basil and more cheese.

Can never have too much basil.

Pour yourself a glass of wine.

But don’t drink and drive the tractor.


Grilled Chicken with Creamy Cheesy Pasta

Recipe courtesy of Pioneer Woman

  • 4 whole Grilled Chicken Breasts, Sliced
  • 1 pound Penne Pasta, Cooked Until Al Dente
  • ½ sticks Butter
  • 3 whole Lemons, Juiced
  • ¾ cups Heavy Cream
  • ¼ cups Half-and-half
  • 1-½ cup Grated Parmesan Cheese (or Romano)
  • Salt And Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste
  • 20 whole Basil Leaves, Chopped

Cook pasta, reserving 1 cup of hot pasta water when you drain. Set pasta aside in a colander.

In the same pot, melt butter over medium heat. Squeeze in the juice of 3 to 4 lemons. Whisk together. Pour in cream and half-and-heat. Whisk until hot. Dump in cheese and whisk until melted. Add salt and pepper. Check consistency, adding some of the hot pasta water to loosen the sauce if needed.

Pour pasta and sauce into a large serving bowl. Sprinkle remaining basil all over the top, then add sliced chicken breasts. Serve immediately!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loverly Chicken & Pasta

  1. Kathy T says:

    OMGoodness! I don’t even have children at home going to school anymore…..but this made me laugh until I cried!!

Leave a Reply

