Treasure Time

I don’t think there has ever been a better day than today!

Five of my happy reasons:

1. It is thrift share Monday and I am linking up with the fabulous ladies at Apron Thrift Girl, Southern Hospitality, Debbiedoos and Coastal Charm to share and compare our weekend treasures.

2. It is First Day of School!

WOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO

I feel like I  lost a thousand pounds and escaped from prison all at once.

I can totally relate to Tim Robbins in Shawshank Redemption, saving up pieces of the prison called summer vacation in my pocket and shaking them out into the yard one miserable chunk at a time.

And now I am FREE.

Free Falling.

Try and get that song out of your head for the rest of the day.

3. It is almost fall! The desert is a beautiful 65 degrees in the morning right now! High temps for the week are only 103!!

Got this little pumpkin to celebrate fall, my favoritest time of the year. Paid $2 for him.

Another piece of autumn. This is a little glazed pottery leaf. $2. I think it is a maple leaf.

Leaf experts?

4. September 1st is officially the start of Candy Corn season! Can’t wait to feel the waxy sweetness against my teeth.

Close up of my little leaf. I can fill her with candy corns and eat them until I get a stomach ache.

Otagiri Canister marked 1982. This cost me $4. The farm & cow remind me of my beloved home state of Wisconsin.

5. Speaking of Wisconsin, my super fun family is coming out to visit me this week for the Badger Game!

The red of the little barn matches my kitchen walls.

Weird camera angle, I promise I do not live in a crooked house.

I am going to use this as the kids candy jar.

This is currently the kids candy jar, but it makes my heart beat a million times a minute whenever one of them takes the lid off. Because I LOVE LOVE LOVE this Napco cookie jar. My sister picked it up for me at an antique store in Kingman for around $17. It is one of my favorite things in life.

I picked this up for my adventure into horticulturism.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

$4.

Maybe I should skip the horticulture-ness and fill this with candy Corn.

This was my find of the day. Stainless service for 8. Cost me $20 and it made me have a thrift store stalker. I could not turn around without bumping into this lady who was greedily eyeing my flatware.  She was all Patrick Swayze ‘Hungry Eyes’ on me.

I have decided I am done with plastic silverware. I am trying to be a little ‘greener’ these days. I mean, recycling wine bottles only goes so far. Plus I am tired of shelling out money on things that literally get thrown away. And the little plastic knives are, for all intents and purposes, useless anyways.

I was not successful in attempts to identify the pattern. I thought it was Oneida, because it came in an Oneida anti tarnish box, but I could not find a match on the Oneida website.

Eventually my head started to hurt from silverware research. It is stamped Stainless Steel Japan on the back. If anyone has any ideas on the origin, feel free to share!

Hope you all have a wonderful, fabulous, cool weather week.

I am off to pack lunches and contain myself from cartwheeling to the bus stop.

Then maybe to Target to buy some candy corn.

The possibilities are, after all, endless…..

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Treasure Time

  1. Selena says:

    Gorgeous set of flatware. I love it!

  2. DeeAnna says:

    Your Hungry Eyes lady cracked me up!! My thrift stalker is usually a man, and quite normally very odiferous!

  3. Cool finds! I have the exact Haeger pot, but mine has a chip on the edge on top…probably paid around $0.50, but that is because here in Iowa they seem to want to just grow corn. And planters they usually get rid of for super cheap. I’m glad because I love growing plants. Now your cookie/candy jar for the kids would probably go for twice as much as you paid-around here, love it!

  4. debbie says:

    What a gorgeous sterling set in the box and all!!~ Cute cookie jar too. Now you have me singing that song, although I was singing mine last week….still singing songs every day since! Thanks for joining in on the partay….hope to see you again soon. THis Wed, I am having a before and after party.

  5. Cate says:

    LOL! Thanks for getting that song stuck in my head.

    What great thrift store finds…I wish we had a good thrift store around here. Then again, I don’t spend much time looking for one, so we probably do!

  6. Jerri says:

    Very amusing post! Especially the Patrick Swayze Hungry Eyes part ….

    I’m glad to know that I am not the only one that loves when school starts, and the start of Candy Corn season!

Leave a Reply

