Saturday Morning Monkey Bread

Let’s just get this fact out of the way right now.

Saturday mornings were made for Monkey Bread.

Ok, now I have that old Michelob beer commercial in my head. “Weekends were made for Michelob”.

And Monkey Bread

Any ideas why it is called Monkey Bread?

I mean, it has no discernible monkey-like qualities. Do monkeys even eat bread? This makes no sense. I mean, I can understand Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey ice cream because it is banana flavored and well, monkeys eat bananas don’t they?

Now come to think of it, I don’t believe I have ever actually seen a monkey in the wild eating a banana. Maybe it is just an urban legend.

And ok, don’t google urban legend because you will be drawn into reading scary stories like ‘Baby Blue‘ about going into the bathroom and fogging up the mirror and summoning a spirit baby that will scratch you if you drop it.

Holy Crap.

I am just going to continue with my monkey bread pictures and try to distract myself from thinking about the school bus on the railroad tracks.

Keep your cinnamon sugar mixture in a plastic bag and it is much easier to coat the little pieces of dough.

There is no such thing as Bloody Mary.

No such thing.

No such thing.

Love to pop the biscuit dough open!

Scissors work much better for cutting the biscuit dough than a knife.

Speaking of  knives…..

Shake the pieces around in the cinnamon sugar mixture.

Layer the pieces in a well greased tube pan.

Must not think about Baby Bridge.

Must not think about it.

Must never go there.

EVAH.

Continue layering your little monkey bits.

While you are layering, melt your butter and brown sugar together.

Try to forget about Ashley and her bloody stumps.

Pour the butter & sugar mixture over the monkey bits. I tried to double this recipe and do a second layer and another mixture of butter and sugar, but all the butter just leaks to the bottom. This uneven distribution of buttery goodness makes the top monkey bits turn out rather dry and what happens is that everyone eats all the ooey gooey monkey bits and leaves the hard crusty ones.

So for future reference, do not double the recipe and never ever ever answer the phone when you are babysitting.

Really have scared myself silly reading the urban legends site. Literally, the doorbell just rang and seriously folks, I almost peed my pants. If you never see me again, make up a good story about how I was killed by the crazy postman and if you go to the post office at midnight on the third Saturday in July and call out my name 3 times I will appear in my Aaron Rodgers jersey and beat you to death with my bloody cheesehead.

Going to see who or what was at the door.

Find a happy place, Lloyd.

Find a happy place.

Monkey Bread

3 (7.5 ounce) packages refrigerated
biscuit dough
1/3 cup white sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease your baking dish or pan well.

In a small bowl, stir together the white sugar and cinnamon. Set aside. Use scissors or a knife to cut each of the biscuits into various sizes. Each one can be cut into anywhere from 2 to 5 pieces. (again, remember my tip about the zip loc bag)

Roll pieces of biscuit in the cinnamon-sugar, and place them into the pans, distributing evenly. Sprinkle any remaining cinnamon-sugar over the dough balls.

Mix together the brown sugar and melted butter.  Distribute evenly over the dough balls.

Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the biscuits are toasted and cooked through. Remove from the oven, and invert onto serving plate while still hot.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday Morning Monkey Bread

  1. Sister Cindy says:

    Don’t forget Mary Worth……

  2. Sister Cindy says:

    Or Bloody Bones, Cloven Hoof Beast……

  3. julie says:

    okay, but the Cloven Hoof Beast is not an urban legend, IT IS REAL! and don’t open the mail, you never now what might be in it. And man your bundt pan gets alot of use, love the monkey bread.

  4. Dana says:

    THIS WAS A HIT in the RDJ house! Thanks!!!

    I renamed it though.

    “Friday-Morning Monkey Bread -that takes forever to bake when you use the wrong pan…and too big of biscuit chunks…and when you like each bite crispy…”

    Attempt number two will take place later this week. I’m determined. 😉

Leave a Reply

