Cookies, Coffee & A Burt Reynolds Update

Happy Happy Day! It’s Thrift Share Monday and I am linking up with Apron Thrift Girl, Southern Hospitality and Coastal Charm for some thrift sharing parties.

Before I get on with the treasure share, I wanted to update you on the strange phenomenon of Burt Reynolds and my blog! There must be a huge pool of Burt fans out in the world, because this post continues to generate anywhere from 70-100 hits a day.

How.

Weird.

Is.

That?

Patsy Cline & Mr. Green Jeans only generate about 3-4 hits a day.

It was kind of a slow week at the thrift and I only found two treasures. The thrift had their big 50% off everything Labor Day sale last week and the good thing about that is that it cleared A LOT of junk off the shelves. Of course, life being a double edged sword, the BAD thing about that is, well, it cleared A LOT of junk off the shelves.

I managed to score this vintage Garner Ware coffee canister for $3. It is already happily filled up on the counter.

Here is my old method of coffee storage.

Happy Happy! And so shiny it could double as a mirror.

OH! See the happy little rooster hanging behind it? You can’t miss it because the glare from the kitchen light and shiny canister is blinding.

I love my rooster! His twin hangs on the other side of the stove. They came as part of this set.

The twin little roosters hung off the pegs at the bottom. There was nowhere that it fit in my kitchen though, so I had to separate them.

Like Charles & Di.

Bonus treasure share because of course this little wooden happy hanging thing also came from the thrift. I think I paid about $10 for it. I bought it way before I had a blog or knew about thrift share Monday though.

I spied this right away and got all nostalgic teary eyed remembering how my Grandma Bea made pizelles at Christmas time. I was all crazy emotional and paid $6.50 for it while planning how the kids and I will make pizelles together this Christmas time and how it will be an absolute Norman Rockwell day of baking cookies and not degenerate into a fistfight over who gets to lick the batter spoon.

Brand new, never used. So exciting!

Except the 1960’s cord makes me a little nervous.

Well, then I open it up and think. What the heck, Grandma Bea never made these.

Poof.

There goes my Norman Rockwell Cookie Baking Day.

So I am sure my sister Cindy is reading this and was thinking the same thing. Like, Dork, Grandma never made pizelles.

Well what the crap did she make?

I had to do some research.

Rosettes! She made Rosettes!

These look pretty involved. You have to deep fry them in oil.

I personally cannot think of a less Norman Rockwell like way of making cookies than letting my kids have at it with a big pot of boiling oil and some sword like cookie mold things.

I mean, really. I won’t even get close to the turkey fryer on Thanksgiving.

I will have to be happy making pizelles and maybe bust out Grandma’s recipe for Cherry Bounce.

Cherry bounce involves cherries, booze and letting it all sit in a big pickle jar until Christmas time. Because it is a festive drink.

I better get on that Cherry Bounce, because I will need at least a pickle jar full to make it through a day of pizelle making with my kids…….

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Musings, thrift, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cookies, Coffee & A Burt Reynolds Update

  1. Cousin Mary says:

    Um ya, The Minnesota Goldsmith’s so need that chery bounce recipe. You Wisconsin-ites got the good recipes and we got Grandpa Goldsmtih’s magnifying glass he used to read with. Not fair. Send recipe!!

  2. Kathy T says:

    I have a pizelle maker…..and it is soooo easy! They take about 30 seconds each and you can make so many wonderful flavors too! I’ll send you recipes if you can’t find any online (HAHA like that would ever happen).

  3. Laura says:

    I love Pizelles! I hope making them is easy and fun, because I know they’re tasty.

  4. Kristin says:

    I think we need a recipe for Cherry Bounce!

    • Janice says:

      As soon as I find a gallon pickle jar! Might have to go to costco and buy a jar of pickles this week. Have to make Cherry Bounce in September so it ferments by Christmas.

  5. sue says:

    Hey girl,

    Pizelles are very easy to make, if I wasn’t so lazy right now, I would get the cookbook that has my mom’s recipe. You will get a ton of them, they cook up fast and you can drape them over little cups for ice cream, or roll them up to make little cigars, or you can roll them ice cream cone style and put fillings in. They are my daughter’s favorite Xmas cookie and being the good, generous mom that I am, I let her take my maker to Denver and I will just borrow my mom’s.
    Traditionally, you use anise flavor, but I have seen other flavors on the net. I saw Martha make them once and she used a pastry bag so hers were super even, but we never, ever had and they get eaten. The kids will get bored, the batter makes so many.
    You got a good price for that maker.

  6. Shara says:

    I need to find a Pizelle maker–I wonder if they are like a tuille cookie? Great price on that, by the way.

  7. julie says:

    better get on the cherry bounce right away or it won’t be done by christmas, also don’t forget about the homemade bailey’s, yum…..oh and the kaluah takes a long time too.

  8. georgie says:

    You can also make krumkake, Norwegian buttery cookies, with your pizelle maker. All you need is a cone shaped piece of wood to bend the just out of the baker cookie into a cone shape. And restraint-the cookies are delicious!

  9. Deahna says:

    I am so jealous of your future pizzelles! I do actually have fond memories with my mom when I was little helping make the yummy pizzelles. I still beg her to make them.

  10. Leah says:

    Love the shelves, canisters and roosters! Colors are gorgeous. The Cherry Bounce sounds yummy … want to share the recipe? Thanks for sharing! đŸ™‚

  11. Sister Cindy says:

    Rosettes are from the Scandanavian countries of Norway, Sweden, etc. They are a pain in the butt to make, but are really good. Hey, Can you tell Crazy Cousin Mary that I emailed her the Cherry Bounce receipe over a month ago.

Leave a Reply

