Banana Pineapple Bread

Someone please turn off the heat in Vegas. It is fall and I want to bake!

Ok, so nothing ever stops me from baking. But seriously. It is 101 degrees today and I want to put out my fall decorations and start burning my pumpkin candles, but it is hard to get into the spirit of fall when you burn your face off walking to and from the bus stop.

Have I ever mentioned how desperately I love the school bus?

I.

Love.

It.

Love Love Love it. I hate doing school pick up. Would rather pull my own eyeballs out than endure the nightmare of school pick up.

Make sure your bananas are nice and ripe.

Nice and ripe is another way to say ‘so brown they are almost rotten’.

Mash them up and set aside.

You should always drink Tab when making banana bread.

In case you are one of the 572 million people who didn’t know, TAB is back!

Has been for awhile.

And I LOVE it.

Coca Cola makes it. I think it was the original diet drink and then Diet Coke was invented and Tab got kicked to the curb.

Which brings to mind the disturbing fact that I must be older than Diet Coke.

Not older than dirt.

Older than Diet Coke.

Disturbing and depressing revelation.

Tab. Tab Cola, what a beautiful treat.

Tab. Tab Cola, for beautiful people.

Tab, it’s beautiful to be…..

Real cola taste, just one calorie.

Tab.

That was the jingle. Do you guys remember?

Or are you all younger than Diet Coke?

The Tab Cola jingle can get stuck in your head for days.

They just don’t make jingles like that anymore.

Now I know I am old.

Because I just said ‘They don’t make blah blah blah like that anymore’.

That is something old people say.

That and the whole walking 4 miles uphill in the snow deal.

Walking 4 miles uphill, both ways, in the snow, eating banana bread and drinking a Tab.

On that note of absolute ancient-ness, I will tell you that this is the best banana bread I have ever made.

EVER.

In all my old, addled, decrepit, elderly, enfeebled, antiquated, Tab drinking years.

BANANA PINEAPPLE BREAD

(Makes two loaves)

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 eggs
1 cup applesauce
1/4 cups vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 (8 ounce) can crushed pineapple,
drained
2 cups mashed ripe bananas

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, salt, baking soda and cinnamon. In another bowl, beat the eggs, oil and vanilla; add applesauce, pineapple and bananas. Stir into the dry ingredients just until moistened. Pour into two greased 8-in. x 4-in. x 2-in. loaf pans.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 60-65 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Pineapple Bread

  1. togga says:

    I’m gonna give this a whirl. Thanks

Leave a Reply

