Okey Dokey Artichokey

If you try one new recipe this week, make it this one!

It is Mr. Right’s favorite pasta dish EVAH. He likes it so much that he didn’t grumble, grouse or complain when he had to make TWO trips to the store to get ingredients I had forgotten. The first time wasn’t so much a matter of my forgetfulness up as it was a personal character flaw of extreme laziness and not wanting to haul 3 kids through the grocery store. And I knew if he knew that I were making this particular dish, he would absolutely go to the store for me.

The second trip was in fact due to incompetence, because REALLY, who runs out of onions & garlic??

And then, what do you think happens when Mr. Right returns from the second trip to the store?

Yep.

More ineptitude.

No chicken broth. The can you see in the photo is actually beef broth cleverly disguised. And I didn’t dare ask Mr. Right to make another trip to the store.

So.

Chicken boullion to the rescue.

And of course my kids always think boullion is candy, so taking this picture was a lesson in patience for me as I explained what exactly boullion is and how it differs from actual candy and NO it doesn’t taste good and Hey do you remember when you wanted to taste the baking chocolate?

Go Pack Go

So the moral of the story (so far) is always check your recipe.

The recipe doesn’t call for chicken, and in fact is quite delicious without it, but I had some leftover rotisserie chicken that needed to be used up.

And then I got all distracted with my Green Bay Packer plate and taking the picture just right so that the G’s would not be blurry and I forgot about my onions & garlic in the food processor and I basically pulverized them.

Bummer.

So I had to start over with the onions and garlic.

Luckily I hadn’t jumped the gun on melting my butter into the olive oil, so, you know, catastrophe averted there.

You want to throw on a big pot of water for the pasta. The sauce does not take too long and if you forget to boil the water you are going to end up eating it out of the pan just like soup because you simply cannot wait for the pasta to be done.

Trust me.

Saute these for 2-3 minutes.

I got this recipe from Pioneer Woman. I use double the artichokes that she does because I love them more than her (I suspect).

Chop up your artichokes. I cut the stems off, because, well, they are weird and I am not too sure about them in recipes.

You could avoid the issue and just buy the artichokes without stems. I would have done that except my Trader Joes was out of them.

Add your diced tomatoes to the onion garlic mixture. I like to use the fire roasted ones because they add a little spice to the sauce.

Be gentle with the artichokes.

If you are adding chicken throw it in now.

If you don’t have a pasta bowl, just use any large, shallow bowl. Stick it in the microwave for a minute and a half so it is warm. It is really important to use Angel Hair or Cappellini pasta for best results.

Add your broth. Try to ignore the odd little flakes where the boullion cube did not completely dissolve.

Pour in your heavy cream.

Please, in the name of justice and liberty for all, DO NOT try and ‘health it up’ by using low fat milk.

Ridiculous good. Let it simmer for 8-10 minutes.

Now, watch this.

The end.

Skinny Pasta With Artichoke Tomato Cream Sauce

  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • ½ whole Medium Onion, Finely Diced
  • 1 can (or 2) Artichoke Hearts (14.5 Oz. Quartered Or Whole) Drained
  • 1 can Diced Tomatoes With Juice (14.5 Oz.)
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream
  • ½ cups Chicken Broth
  • ½ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 1 pound Thin Spaghetti
  • 1 cup Parmesan Cheese, Freshly Grated
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Chives (or Other Herbs) Chopped (Optional)

Cook spaghetti till al dente. Drain and set aside.

Melt olive oil and butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions and garlic and saute for 2 to 3 minutes.

Add artichoke hearts and tomatoes. Stir and cook for 8 to 10 minutes. Reduce heat to low. Stir in cream and chicken broth. Add salt and pepper to taste (do not undersalt!) Cook over low heat until heated through, then turn off heat.

Place drained pasta in a large bowl. Sprinkle with 1 cup Parmesan. Pour sauce over the top. Add chives. Toss lightly to combine and coat. Top with fresh herbs.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Okey Dokey Artichokey

  1. Angela says:

    Wow, that looks tasty!

Leave a Reply

