More Cookies and A New Crush

*Please read this next sentence in a Monty Hall/Bob Barker/Wink Martindale long drawn out game show host voice*

Ittttttttt’s THRIFT SHARE Mooooonnnnnnddddaaaaayy!

Linking up with the thrifty parties at Apron Thrift Girl and Southern Hospitality!

It was a great thrifting week. I found some fun stuff for me and some great stuff for ebay. Hit the thrift on Saturday and then spent the day listing stuff on ebay. Mr. Right took the big kids to the truck races, some miracle of the heavens prompted the baby to go to sleep early and I sat on the couch and watched Cat On A Hot Tin Roof from beginning to end without interruption.

Can I just say here that the level of hotness that Paul Newman reaches in that movie is absolutely unparalleled to this day?

H

O

T

Wow.

The crush I have on P.N. makes the crush I had on Shaun Cassidy seem so tame.

Liz Taylor is absolutely stunning in the movie and did you know that Burl Ives (a.k.a. Big Daddy) is not only the voice of the snowman in Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, but also sings ‘Have a Holly Jolly Christmas’?

I am a plethora of old Hollywood information today.

Ok.

One last gratuitous eye candy shot of Paul Newman and then we can get on with thrift share Monday.

All that and a bag of popcorn…..

Another Vintage cookie tool to go along with my pizelle maker!

$2.50

Doesn’t look like it was ever used, except that it is missing 7 out of the ’12 Fancy Shapes’ that the box boasts of.

Now you know if you come to my house for Christmas parties you will be eating pizelles and spritz cookies.

Speaking of Christmas…..

This matches the plates I found last week and BONUS it was 1/2 off purple tag and this had a purple tag so I got it for $2. It is also marked Arcoroc France.

My favorite color. This was only $1.50. It has an age stain of some sort, but I don’t care. I love the cabbage leaf texture and it’s yellow, so of course it was coming home with me. I already used it for a party this past week. It was lovely piled high with meringue cookies.

Marked Carlton Ware.

I know I have told you about the sad time that I found the vintage lemon tablecloth at the thrift and for some blockheaded reason, I did not buy it and have kicked myself ever since. I wasn’t about to let that happen again. These were 39 cents and they reminded me of that tablecloth, which by the way I still search for every time I go to the thrift in case of the unlikely event that whoever purchased it has gotten tired of it and donated it back.

This was my favorite find of the day. Buttery yellow goodness for $3.

Not sure who made it as this is the only mark on it.

It now lives on top of my refrigerator. Looks quite happy there.

Hope you all have a fabulous week!

Couldn’t help myself. Sorry.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to More Cookies and A New Crush

  1. Jess says:

    Good finds! I am right there with you — not buying something and then kicking myself for WEEKS after!!!

    Although, sometimes I bring home things and kick myself about those too! 🙂

  2. pauline says:

    janice-
    i love your blog…it reminds me of why i love to scour garage sales and thrift stores…and it always puts me in a good mood! have a wonderful week!

    pauline xo

  3. Laura says:

    Gorgeous yellow! Love the Paul Newman shots!

  4. Sandy says:

    Thanks for sharing your thrift treasures. I must say I too have a crush on Paul Newman. My hubby thinks it’s funny. All I can say is “Wowza” for that last photo you posted of him.

    By the way, is that a picture of Auntie Betty on your fridge?

    Sandy

  5. Jennifer says:

    I LOVE spritz!! 🙂

  6. Oh yeah! Paul Newman was a total babe in the movie. Man! Whew! 🙂 My dad always made spritz cookies when I was a kid. I wonder if I still have the spritz tool. Hmmm. I used to have it. You found great treasures this week.

  7. Kristin says:

    Sadly, Paul Newman didn’t age well.

  8. Joy says:

    Oh! Paul Newman not only aged well, his white hair and blue eyes ROCKED even more as he got older…besides he had the older man’s hottest aphrodisiac…he stayed married to the woman he loved and raised children and grandchildren…now that’s HOT!

    Oh! ….and loved the lines of your “buttery goodness USA” piece!

  9. sue says:

    I agree with you, Joy…not only did Paul age well, he stayed with Joanne and he left a ton of money to charity. Personally, I think men age better than women. I don’t think that’s fair, but I think time is kinder to the faces of men.

    What blew my mind when he was young was the fact he was my father’s age…when he was in, Cool Hand Luke, I was checking out his bio and discovered that fact. That was a bit strange, lusting after a man the same age as my dad.

    I was totally bummed when he died. Now I think Robert Redford did not age well. He looked much better as a younger man. But, that’s my opinion.

    My daughter did not see what I saw in Newman…we both agreed that Gregory Peck was a hotty, especially in, Roman Holiday.
    See what you started? What about Peck? Thumbs up or down?

Leave a Reply

