Big Game Dip

GO PACK GO!

I love my Green Bay Packers.

Even though they played an exceptionally awful game on Monday night, they still have my undying love and affection. It warms my heart every time I see that big green G.

Sadly, Mr. Right is a Minnesota Vikings fan. It was never too big of an issue until the great break up of 2009.

I am sure Vinnie would not have approved.

*Sidenote*

My Grandma Bea used to be a cook at UWGB way back in the Lombardi days. They used to eat at the cafeteria and one day he came into the cafeteria and said he wanted to meet the lady responsible for the cinnamon rolls. So Vinnie and Grandma Bea sat down and had coffee and cinnamon rolls together.

She probably didn’t call him Vinnie though.

So back to the tension of 2009.

When the treacherous traitor tromped out onto the field in his purple uniform, something inside me snapped.

I think it was my heart.

It was kind of like watching your old high school boyfriend marry someone else.

And during the wedding you secretly hope he changes his mind at the last minute and declares his undying love for you and rushes back down the aisle and you grab his hand and take off in the just married car and live happily ever after.

Not that I’ve ever been in that situation and had a lot of time to daydream about the outcome or anything.

Anyways, it was kind of like that watching old #4 turn purple.

So I drowned myself in chips and this dip.

And, ok, some beer.

It helped.

This is the easiest dip ever. Loaded with green salsa and cilantro, it is the stuff dreams are made of!

Pretty much all you have to do  is throw everything into your food processor and hit the switch.

A little fresh lime juice.

An action shot of the old Juice O Mat, my favorite thrift store find EVAH.

Seriously.

Love it

Add your spices.

Let it go till it’s nice and creamy.

Sprinkle some more cilantro on top and you’re done…..

Except for the chips.

Goes great on veggies, quesadillas, grilled chicken, steak, etc.

It will make you forget all about that guy who stole your heart.

Broke it.

Pulverized it.

Smashed it to veritable smithereens.

It will give you the courage to go on without him.

The courage to dream new dreams.

Like how his new wife will turn into a frigid old nag and gain at least 75 pounds.

Or maybe that he will just start throwing interceptions and losing playoff games for his new wife just like he did for you.

Oh.

Wait.

CREAMY CILANTRO DIP

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese,
softened
1 tablespoon sour cream
1 (7 ounce) can tomatillo salsa
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon celery salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons garlic powder
1 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
Toss everything into a food processor and blend until smooth. Top with more chopped cilantro.
Serve with chips, veggies, quesadillas, whatever turns you on!
About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big Game Dip

  1. snath says:

    HA!! HA!!!!!

Leave a Reply

