Always Time For Pie

I am on a super pie kick lately. Mostly because it is Fall and Fall to me, means pie.

Not that I limit my pie eating to Fall, of course.

I don’t discriminate against other months when it comes to pie eating time.

But Fall just seems to go hand in hand with pie baking. All the cinnamony smells and ripe fruit. Makes me feel like Ma Ingalls waiting all summer to harvest my peaches and bake a pie for Pa.

You knew that was coming.

Peeling fruit calms me. I actually love it. Really.

It reminds me of back in the day at my old house in the country. You could stand at the kitchen sink and look out the window at the fields and the neighbors horses and there was no sense of time. It could be 10:00am or 2:00pm and you wouldn’t really know the difference.

Right now at this very minute, if I had one wish granted, it would be to go back for a day to the old farmhouse and bake a pie.

Peaches are one of my favorite fruits. I think it is because there is only a certain time of year when they taste really good. Peak peach season is late August and they never really taste the same the rest of the year.

Except maybe in Georgia.

Maybe I could move to Georgia and be just like Delta Burke and Dixie Carter.

Oh. And Scarlett O’Hara.

I could grow peaches in my backyard and make pies everyday!

I had extra crust from when I baked the Amazing Apple Pie. I just kept it tightly wrapped in the refrigerator and it worked fine.

I think it needed another peach.

This pie had a crumb topping, similar to Apple Crisp. I made the mistake of melting the butter too much before mixing and it turned the topping too creamy. You want it to be crumbly, so use cold butter.

Mix the topping in a separate bowl and sprinkle over the top. Mine was too gooey to sprinkle, so I sort of scraped it off my fingers where I wanted it to go.

I added oatmeal to try and make it less gummy. Oatmeal is optional.

Make sure you distribute it evenly.

I had to stop and admire my gerber daisies for a minute.

About 45 minutes in the oven should do it, but keep an eye out to make sure the topping doesn’t burn.

Make sure you scoop up all that juice! Don’t let it go to waste.

Finish it off with a little ice cream.

Close your eyes and pretend you are back in the country, sitting on the front porch of a big white farmhouse watching the world go by.

Crumb Topped Peach Pie

(you can substitute apples for the peaches if you wish)

Heat Oven to 350 degrees

  • 6 apples, cored and sliced
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • Unbaked 9 inch pie crust
  1. Mix together 3/4 cup sugar, 3 tablespoons flour, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Sprinkle over apples and toss to coat. Spread evenly in unbaked pie shell.
  2. To Make Topping: Using a pastry cutter, mix together 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar and butter until evenly distributed and crumbly in texture. Sprinkle over apples.
  3. Put pie in the oven on a cookie sheet to catch the juices that may spill over. Bake 45 minutes.
About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always Time For Pie

  1. snath says:

    I wish we could go back…

Leave a Reply

