A Chicken Stew in Every Pot

I

I always thought that ‘quote’ was attributed to Roosevelt, but doing research I found out that it is actually associated with Herbert Hoover (or Hoyboyt Hoooovah if you know the Archie Bunker theme song). And he never actually promised it, it was an ad campaign from the Republican National Committee that ran in several newspapers during the 1928 election. It was referencing the prosperity of the Coolidge years. A chicken in every pot and a car in every garage.

Just a little civic trivia for you in honor of my adopted state’s holiday.

Happy Nevada Day to all my Nevada homies.

Does anyone say homies anymore?

This chicken stew would probably have won old Hoyboyt Hoovah the election.

Can I just say right now that I LOVE LOVE LOVE Archie Bunker.

Sorry if that is not pc, but I do. I absolutely adore him, Dingbat, Meathead and Little Girl.

There is my chicken in it’s pot.  Simmer until done and then shred it up and set aside.

Don’t waste 89 cents on a can of broth. Just reserve your liquid that you cooked the chicken in. I always throw a couple of bouillon cubes in with the chicken and it makes a great broth.

Remind your kids that, although deceptively disguised, bouillon is NOT candy.

I used baby carrots because Mr. Right ‘likes them better’ than regular carrots.

I KNOW!

He has no preference on type of celery.

You will want to use russet potatoes because they will hold their shape.

Like I do in a girdle.

Really. Girdle is a funny word.

Keep saying it over and over as you chop the onions and it will take your mind off the tears in your eyes.

Saute your onions and garlic for a minute or two.

Throw your carrots and celery in there and let them saute for about 5 minutes.

Add your broth.

I normally find ‘Cream of Anything’ canned soup to be over the top disgusting, but it works well in this recipe.

Stir it in quick, so you don’t have to stare at a big pile of creamy canned gelatin goo for very long.

You are gonna let this cook  at a medium simmer for  an hour or so.

Add your potatoes and let it keep simmering.

Let it go for about 1/2 an hour to 45 minutes.

In goes the chicken for another 5 minutes.

I abhor cooked peas, so I used frozen green beans, but if you are a pea lover, knock yourself out and add the whole bag.

Now you have 5 minutes to make your dumpling dough.

It is pretty much just bisquick and milk. The dough will be very runny, more like a cake batter than dough.

Glop it in there with a tablespoon.  Make sure the stew is at a full boil. Don’t worry if it looks hopeless.

Now Cover and let it go for 10 minutes.

Remove the cover and let it go an additional 10 minutes.

Hot Tip!

This will taste much better if it is cold and gray and rainy outside.

Or you are wearing fuzzy pajamas and the wind is howling at your door.

Or there is a blizzard.

Or if your name is Meathead.

 

Chicken Stew & Dumplings

  • 2 (10.75 ounce) cans condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 2 small onions, coarsely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2-3 cups cooked & shredded chicken
  • 5 carrots, sliced
  • package of frozen peas or green beans
  • 4 potatoes, quartered
  • 3 cups baking mix
  • 1 1/3 cups milk

In a dutch oven, melt 1 tablespoon butter into 1 tablespoon olive oil and saute onion and garlic for 1-2 minutes.

Add carrots and celery and saute for 4-5 minutes.

Stir in chicken broth and cream soup.

Cook at medium simmer for about an hour.

Add potatoes and simmer an additional 45 minutes.

Add chicken and cook 5 minutes.

Add peas or beans for another 5 minutes.

Add dumplings. To make dumplings: Mix baking mix and milk until a soft dough forms. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto BOILING stew. Simmer covered for 10 minutes, then uncover and simmer an additional 10 minutes.

 

 

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

