Mr. Right’s Favorite Cornbread

Just go ahead and buy yourselves a bigger pair of pants.

Really.

Ok.

So I threw out this ‘Lose Five Pounds By Thanksgiving’ challenge on Facebook and holy crap, 27 of my friends jumped on it. So now we keep each other accountable and post what we eat and our exercise and if we have drank our water for the day. So far it is great and everyone is all up in the weight loss biz.

It is day 2.

And then I promised one of the guys I work with that I would make some chicken chili for a meeting he is having at his house and I decide to be nice and make some cornbread too.

This is special cornbread my friends. Some people like to call it spoon bread. I call it ‘makes your stomach flop over the waistband of your jeans immediately’  bread. Or ‘hey when did my belt shrink?’ bread. There’s also the ever popular ‘have to lift my belly up with both hands to make it up the stairs now’ bread.

2 sticks of butter, go ahead and melt it.

2 boxes of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix. You know the kind. It’s in the blue box that has neither updated it’s design nor gone up in price since 1964.

42 cents at Walmart girls.

FORTY TWO CENTS

2 cans of whole kernal corn, drained.

Remember my motto….

“Buy the store brand”

Don’t get all up in my face crazy with the Libby’s or the Del Monte.

2 cans of cream style corn.

I know it looks disgusting, like throw up or baby poop, sorry, it is relevant to the recipe.

Oh. Oh. Oh.

Speaking of poop, I have to share with you guys the funniest Facebook Status I have ever seen.

Posted by a friend of mine on election day:

“Voting, kind of like trying to decide which of two turds to eat first.”

Died laughing at that.

DIED.

Do you think there is actually cream in cream style corn?

Add the melted butter.

At this point you would also add 2 eggs.

Unless you forgot.

Like me.

Then you would just add the sour cream and continue on your merry, eggless way.

The accidental elimination of the eggs did not in any way affect the outcome, so they will from now on be considered an optional ingredient.

Like the handful of chopped nuts that people like to throw into everything.

Use a metal cake pan for this recipe. And spray the heck out of it.

Load it up. It will weigh about 7 lbs.

Bake it at 350 degrees for about an hour and 10 minutes. This is the amount of time that I bake mine, your oven might take a little more time or little less. Check it after an hour. It should be a nice golden color.

Don’t worry about the cracks.

Unless you’re a plumber.

OK.

So normally if I was baking something for you, I wouldn’t just cut into it and eat a piece.

But I had to show you guys.

I was about to take a bite, so I could describe it to you in great detail.

And then I remembered I had this.

It’s an optional ingredient.

Like the eggs…….

Bring this delightfulness to your in laws for Thanksgiving.

And tell them I said hello and I hope that they like my  ‘no it is not a stomach sleeve tattoo, it is just the gouged flesh from the waistband of my tight pants’ bread.

Peace.

 

Corn Spoon Bread

(The recipe in this post was doubled–the following is a single batch and needs to be baked in an 8×8 pan)

1 Box Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix

1 stick melted butter

8 oz sour cream (1 cup)

1 can whole kernal corn (drained)

1 can cream style corn

2 eggs (kind of optional)

Mix all ingredients and pour into well greased 8×8 pan.

Bake at 350 for at least an hour. May need to bake an additional 5-10 minutes.

Buy new pants.

 

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mr. Right’s Favorite Cornbread

  1. Sara says:

    Try this variation: add a 7 oz can of mild chopped green chilis (or 2) and a cup of shredded sharp cheddar – Mexican spoon bread – amazing.

  2. Sara says:

    OH, doesn’t do well w/honey if you add the chili’s 🙂

  3. snath says:

    I just made this for my office pot luck. My recipe is really close. I think two cans of whole kernal corn and one egg. I still do it in the 9 1/2 X 11. For the last 10 minutes, I put Ched Cheese on top and melt!! Yummy! I had to make chili the next day just to use the left overs up appropriately…oh & count me in on the 5 lbs…

  4. Kristin says:

    Ooooh, that sounds delish and easy. This is definitely going in my recipe file.

  5. sue says:

    This looks like an excellent recipe to make the next time I make chili. In fact, I think I will have to try a chicken chili, since you mentioned it, to go with it, just to be different.

    I don’t know if you have ever considered writing as a career, because you really have a gift. I totally enjoy your posts and I always make it a point to read what you send. You are witty and have such a way of expressing yourself. Plus, you have great recipes and interesting stories.

    This recipe doesn’t look like it will help with my stomach roll situation. Unfortunately, as I have aged, my body is going all to hell. Of course, my terrible eating habits might have something to do with it. Perhaps I should waddle over and attempt to jump on the 5 pound bandwagon…

    • Janice says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I just write like I talk I guess. Never considered a career.
      Ok-lied. I was the editor of my High School papaer. (mostly to get out of class) And they did send me to journalism camp (I KNOW) where i won an award for a story about the prom date from hell…….was completely distracted at journalism camp because of the boys basketball camp that was simultaneously taking place…..

  6. Cousin Mary says:

    This dish might give my brother Pete’s Corn casserole a run for his money at the Goldsmith Thanksgiving. As for the weight loss I think the easiest way for me would be to cut off a limb. Who needs your left arm anyway?/ Unless of course you’re left handed.
    Peace

    • Janice says:

      I could NOT be more jealous of the Goldsmith Thanksgiving. What a Hoot! We were at Cindy’s last year. First time we had been home for Thanksgiving in 7 years. Had a BLAST. Might do it again next year.

  7. Kimberly says:

    SO making this for my Bunco Turkey Din Din next week. Thanks for posting it. BTW: I always thought creamed corn was a gross concoction made with corn starch or something. Then I saw on a food show recently that it is just the juices you can scrape off the corn cob. You can actually buy a gadget that lets you make your own creamed corn. Here is a link to one: http://www.paulnoll.com/Oregon/Canning/corn-f-tool-01.html It was quite enlightening and now I am not scared of creamed corn anymore. (Well, maybe a little bit still.)

Leave a Reply

