Saturday Ramblings & A Giveaway!

You know that phrase ‘He/She lives a charmed life’?

I totally lived it today.

It was one of those Saturdays that you wake up and think. ‘Crap, work’ and then that delirious moment when you realize it is Saturday presents itself.

That moment, for me,  dates all the way back to the late 70’s waking up on a Saturday and thinking ‘Crap, School’ followed by “HOLY CRAP, No, It’s Saturday and that means the Smurfs are on!”.

I got up late (for me) watched the news, took a walk, came home and tried a new food……

It’s a Plumello.

Isn’t that the funnest name ever?

I don’t know what came over me at the grocery store. I had this adventurous urge to buy the plumello priced at $1.99 each.

I daydreamed that it would be this exotic new fruit that my kids would fall in love with and want to eat all the time.

How exciting right?

But, Hey–guess what? Turns out it is just a big green grapefruit.

Which ranks right up there with beets and rhubarb as far as I am concerned.

So.

Epic fail on the plumello.

I decide to try my hand at cinnamon rolls.

41 years and counting and I have never made cinnamon rolls that did not involve pressing a spoon against a cardboard tube until it pops and the dough falls out.

Until today.

I promise I will take pictures and blog it next time. This being my first try and all, I was not very confident that it would turn out. Plus the kids were helping and that is always less than picturesque.

Then Mr. Right took Gabs to the movie, Max was playing the Wii, baby napping  and I was enjoying this…..

Hot tea and Woman’s Day.

Yes, I am 107 years old.

But I was sooooo enjoying myself. Calm, quiet, no stress, no timeline, nowhere to be.

Wish I would have listened to that little niggling in the back of my brain telling me I was supposed to be somewhere, but I ignored it. And then I got the text saying ‘Where are you’?

Friends, I hate those kind of texts. Turns out I had completely forgotten my nephew’s birthday party. I felt like the biggest dirtbag loser aunt ever. So I am toally making it up to him with a super fun, camp out sleepover next week.

And it’s gonna ROCK!

Back to the charming life….

Heated up the jaccuzzi and baby and Max played like angels in there until Mr. Right got home from the movies. Then Gabs joined in the swim party. It was a perfect 79 degrees here today. I sat on the patio and listened to the wind through the palm trees, a sound I adore. I listened to the kids play like they had not fought to the death over the computer last night. I poured myself a glass of wine and contemplated when to start dinner.

Realized that in addition to forgetting the birthday party, I had forgotten to take the chicken out of the freezer, so dinner was an odd mix of cinnamon rolls, frozen pizza, bean and cheese burritos and chips with salsa.

And it was perfect.

I just sat.

Sat for hours listening and drinking wine and reading Guideposts.

Which, of course, made me cry like Guideposts always does. I cried over the soldier from Iraq and his lost dog. I cried over the lady that went blind. I even teared up at the story of Trisha Yearwood cooking her first Thanksgiving dinner for Garth Brooks, although I DO NOT approve of the way she stole him away from his wife.

My mom, since I can remember, has always gotten me a subscription to Guideposts for Christmas.

That brings me to my giveaway.

A random commenter on this post will win a one year subscription to Guideposts, courtesy of me.

Because I believe that everyone needs to get a little bit of  ‘feel good’ once in awhile. And Guideposts delivers.

Of course if you are one of my sisters, you are disqualified because I know Mom sends you your own subscription.

As the sky turned dark and the wind blew the palm leaves, I felt so at peace. So lucky. Incredibly blessed.

Charmed.

Now off to watch ‘Aliens in the Attic in a big tent of blankets, eat some popcorn, maybe another glass of wine.

AND.

Oh.

People who did not enter my last giveaway…..

Too Bad So Sad for you!

I was giving away my lovely little McCoy sugar dish that I had found at the thrift store. Seems no one was too interested because only 4 people commented.

Hmmph.

Well you would have gotten a super surprise like the winner is about to receive in the mail.

Because.

I totally found the matching creamer on ebay for a steal and I got it and now to my lovely friend Missy…

This little happy McCoy pinecone cugar and creamer will be yours…….

Of course I will probably not actually get these in the mail, but rather save them till I see you at Christmas and girl I can’t wait!

We are so going caroling!

Be blessed everyone!

 

COMMENTS FOR THE GIVEAWAY ACCEPTED UNTIL TUESDAY MORNING
Winner announced Tuesday or Wednesday!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Saturday Ramblings & A Giveaway!

  1. Debbie says:

    This was so fun to read!! Thank you for sharing your day with us!! I can just picture the palm trees, the kids, the everything!! I had one of those days myself only shopping that I never do and now enjoying a cocktail while little man watches Scobby Doo and I hear nailing in the garage and building being done!! Could not ask for any more!!

  2. Kim says:

    Your funny! I love reading your stuff I just never comment. I have to agree that there is nothing better than waking up and realizing you can do whatever you want, fall back asleep, get up and have a cup of coffee, or stay in bed and do NOTHING!

  3. Kris (Brown) Zambori says:

    I love your blog!
    And if it matters…have never ever read guidepost

  4. Missy says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful day! I am so happy to be the winner! And even more happy that i get to see you next month! Will u also make me your salted chocolate and caramel bars and ill bring a bottle of wine!

  5. sue says:

    Your cinnamon roll story reminds me of the first time I cooked a chicken in a clay cooker. I was so into the soaking of the pot and getting the veggies just so to go in the pot with the chicken…that I didn’t make anything else to go with the chicken. No noodles, rice, potatoes, just the chicken and the veggies that cooked with it. Oops, I just totally forgot about the rest of the meal.

    Sounds like a lovely day, listening to the wind in the palms.

  6. candice says:

    You always crack me up- I love to read your musings! Don’t forget the Rutherfords, we’ll be in town for 3 weeks at Christmas- not my favorite, but if I can hoke-up with some old friends, it will all be worth it! Caroling? I love Caroling! I will invite myself, but I promise to bring some of the Napa Valley with me, so my tagging along will all be forgiven!

  7. Kristin says:

    Despite the episodes of forgetting, it sounds like a pretty darned good day. The cinnamon rolls look delish.

  8. Pingback: Fastest Thrift Share Ever « Feels Like Time

  9. Anna McD says:

    Thanks for a chance to win!

Leave a Reply

