Tres Leches Cake & Welcome December!

Happy First of December! The first of December brings much excitement in our house as the kids can officially tear into the Trader Joes advent calendars and get their daily chocolate.

Plus, you know, the whole Christmas is coming thing.

I love the first of December because it is officially the day I start using my candy cane body wash from Philosophy. It is the yummiest body wash you will ever use. My own little December tradition. If you have never tried it, you should run out and find some today.

We can use it together.

But not like that.


Or you could just make one of these cakes and console yourself over not having any candy cane body wash by eating several pieces.

Was a little leery of making a cake without chocolate or heavy frosting, but dang this was good.

Start with your dry ingredients.

First rule of baking. Always keep them separate and off to the side.

Try not to talk to much while you are separating your eggs or you might accidentally put the yolks in with the whites and have to swear and start all over again.

I heard that somewhere….

Beat your butter and sugar together and then add your egg yolks.

You are supposed to add them one at a time for maximum results, but I called B.S. on that and threw them all in together and just let ‘er rip.

Then you are supposed to add the flour two tablespoons at a time, but of course I didn’t read that part until after I had thrown it all in. I worried for about a minute and then moved on.

I did follow the instruction to stir gently. Lots of rules with this cake. Apparently the combination of ingredients and the way you add, beat, combine things can change the chemistry of the recipe and affect the final product I guess.

Of course,  I never took chemistry in high school, ’cause HELLO, much like algebra, it is a subject I truly had no interest in.

And. Oh. Guess what?  Made it to 41 years just fine with my lack of algebra and chemistry knowledge.

So.

Hah.

Big fat waste of time that was……you-know-who-you-are-high-school-friends.

Ok. But it was kind of fun when the rather crazy chemistry teacher knocked over her shelf full of potions and the fire department came and evacuated the school.

Happily, that happened on a Friday.

And do you know what?

The next Friday someone walked over to the Tech College campus next door and called in a bomb threat on the pay phone and we got evacuated that day too!

Except that I missed the whole thing because I had skipped school to go to the A&W. So my friend and I are driving around town and seeing everyone else and thinking ‘Holy Crap, nobody went to 6th hour’.

Nope.

The whole bomb thing.

And, by the way, we got ripped off of our fifteen minutes of fame, because NOT ONE of the national networks showed up on our campus and interviewed us.

You have to beat your egg whites separately and fold them in gently.

The whole chemistry thing again.

Somewhere in there you add 1/3 cup of whole milk. I got distracted by my trip down memory lane and forgot to add that part.

Vanilla goes in last.

Because maybe I forgot to put it in the right order.

It was Thanksgiving morning. The parade was on and we had company.

Sue me.

Keep an eye on it. It is supposed to bake 30 minutes. Don’t talk too much or you might not hear the oven timer go off.

Once it is cool, poke the heck out of it with a fork.

Time to make a little magic….

Mix your 3 milks together and s-lo-w-l-y drizzle all but one cup over the holes in the cake.

Oh. And a big shout out to Mr. Right for being the hero of the day and running to the store Thanksgiving morning for one can of evaporated milk.

You can pretty much count on seeing him every Thanksgiving morning at the local Albertsons picking  up one random ingredient.

He loves that holiday tradition.

Cherishes it.

Really.

I let the milk soak into the cake for a good 45 minutes. Some sunk (sank?) to the bottom and then I would tip and twist the pan to get the liquid to the corners and then tip it back over the top of the cake.

Good stuff.

Yes.

I had to try a little corner to make sure it was acceptable for human consumption.

You need to use real whip cream. The kind you whip yourself, not the kind from a can or a plastic tub that your mother would wash out and call tupperware.

You are supposed to top it with a maraschino cherry, but I forgot.

Plus you know the whole ‘maraschino cherry/formaldehyde‘ urban legend thing.

Which, they says is a load of codswallop, so knock yourself out.

Hot Tip.

The cake is better the next day.

As in, for breakfast.

Ok-Have tried for half an hour to fix the spacing on the following recipe and can’t.

Now I need a drink and it is only 6:30am.

Hope you can deal with the freaky spacing. I suspect it is operator error.

TRES LECHES CAKE

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 cup white sugar
5 eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup whole milk
MILK  TOPPING
1 can Evaporated Milk
1 can Sweetened, Condensed Milk
¼ cups Heavy Cream
WHIPPED CREAM TOPPING
1 pint heavy whipping cream
3 tablespoons sugar
INSTRUCTIONS

1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9 x 13 glass baking dish.
2. Sift flour and baking powder together and set aside.

3. Add egg yolks one at a time and the 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract; beat gently. Add 1/3 cup whole milk and stir until combined.

4. Beat egg whites with the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar until stiff peaks form.

5. Add the flour mixture  2 tablespoons at a time; mix until well blended. Pour batter into prepared pan.

6. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool. Pierce several times with a fork.

7. Mix together Sweetened condensed milk, 1/4 cup heavy cream and evaporated milk. Pour all but 1 cup over cake. Make sure it is well soaked.

8. Beat 1 pint whipping cream with 3 tablespoons sugar until spreading consistency. Frost cake and refrigerate.

9. You’re on your own with the whole maraschino cherry decision.


About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tres Leches Cake & Welcome December!

  1. jackie says:

    totally making this for alan… its one of his faves!

  2. snath says:

    Ok! So if you tell I story I’m in. I would APPRECIATE a shout out !! HA!!! I’m doing fine without Chemistry too….& Bill took it…not sure it’s doing him any good ! HA! Besides we learned more from Stinky in Consumer Math than we ever did in Algebra. (By the way, my Mom never did see the report card from that last quarter!) Love you!

Leave a Reply

