Be Still My Artichoke Heart…..

Pure artichoke dip my friends, pure artichoke dip.

As in…

No spinach added.

Gross.

I’m sure you all have stories of spinach love and a certain way to cook it that it doesn’t even taste like spinach….yada yada yada.

First off.

Spinach always tastes like spinach. Even when cleverly disguised as a delightful accompaniment to chips and divine little bites of sourdough bread.

It still tastes like spinach.

And it still gets stuck ever so attractively between your teeth.

So, yeah, no spinach here. If you want to somehow adapt the recipe and figure out how much spinach to add and how much artichoke to subtract so you can get spinach/artichoke dip, well you will get no help from me.

I will not aid and abet such nonsense.

Make sure the cream cheese is at room temperature. It works so much better in the mixing process if it is, indeed, creamy.

1/2 cup of grated parmesan/romano blend. You could certainly use freshly grated if you are not a lazy slob like me who thrives on pre grated cheese.

Some day I am going to attend the Garlic Festival in Gilroy California.

I imagine it is kind of like the Bayfield Apple Festival where they take apples and make them into every form of deliciousness you can imagine. Apple pie, apple ice cream, apple cider, apple brandy.

Except it is garlic. Garlic candy, garlic bread, garlic beer.

Yep.

The Gilroy Garlic Festival.

Definitely on my ‘Bucket List’

That and the Ben & Jerry’s factory in Vermont.

And Miller Brewing Co.

Some salt & pepper.

Throw in the sour cream and stir everything up until it is well combined.

You have to be gentle with artichoke hearts.

Give them a coarse chop with a sharp knife so you don’t crush them.

They are very much like teenage boys.

Smell funny and easily crushed.

Fold them into the cheesy mixture.

Again, make sure you aren’t too rough on them. Not sure what will happen if you are, and don’t really want to find out.

Spread it in the baking dish and cover with more shredded cheese. The recipe calls for mozzarella, but I have also used monterey jack and in this case, pepper jack with great results.

With all the Christmas parties and pot lucks coming up, all you need to do is bring this and dude, you’ll be a total rockstar. There will be no need for you to stand under the mistletoe.

There will also be no chance that you are the joke of the party because you walked around all night with green crap hanging out on your incisor and no one bothered to tell you because;

1. They didn’t want to embarrass you

and

2. It’s funny

 

ARTICHOKE DIP

(8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup grated Romano cheese

1 clove garlic, peeled and minced

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1/4 teaspoon garlic salt

salt and pepper to taste

2 (14 ounce) cans artichoke hearts, drained and chopped

1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Mix together everything except artichoke hearts until well combined.

Gently fold artichokes into cheese mixture.

Transfer the mixture to the prepared baking dish. Top with mozzarella cheese. Bake in the preheated oven 25 minutes, until bubbly and lightly browned.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Still My Artichoke Heart…..

  1. Jen says:

    I am with you on the spinach in the artichoke dip…yuck! Mick makes a similar dip but it has red onion and white cheddar in it as well…yummy! My mouth is watering…

    BTW I love your blog! Oh and I made your “Mr. Right’s Cornbread” Gluten Free and used the leftovers for stuffing on Thanksgiving. It was amazing! Thanks for all the recipes 🙂

  2. Missy says:

    1. I make pretty much the same dip and love it sans spinach just like you
    2. I live about an hour to gilroy and on the way down we can stop at a number of farmers markets and pick up fresh picked artichokes!

Leave a Reply

