Christmas Thrift Sharing

Happy Monday! I was going to combine my thrift share Monday post with my Hot buttered rum recipe. But I would have had to call it it Hot Buttered Monday and that sounds kind of dirty. So you will have to wait till tomorrow for the deliciousness of the hot buttered rum….

Linking up with my friends at Apron Thrift Girl for treasure fun! Sharing a little bit of my love for vintage candles. I found the small angels and tree at a garage sale for $2 and fell in love. The larger angels came from ebay. These are all made by the Gurley candle company. They remind me of when I was little. The carolers are not actually a candle. They are some sort of air freshener type thing from Avon.

My mom used to sell Avon way back in the day. Those of you who know my mom will probably have fallen off of your chair in shock from that tidbit of knowledge.

Yes.

Jan was an Avon lady for a short spell.

Anyways. Love my little candles. Waiting on a Santa from ebay as we speak.

Oh.

Remember these?

I got them at that super fantastic garage sale this past summer. I really wanted to find an old red sled, but antique sleds are hard to come by in the desert, I don’t know, something about needing snow.

So I ended up hanging them off the back of the chair and sticking some poinsettia (yes-that is how you spell it) in them. They are super cute and I love having them.

Except for the moment when my daughters little friend was admiring them. The conversation went like this:

Little Friend: ‘Are those real ice skates?’ (remember-we live in the desert, so that was a valid question)

Me: ‘Yes, they are very old antique ice skates. They are from 1915.’

Little Friend (totally serious) ‘Wow, did you wear them when you were in college?’

Here are all my Santas.

My mom made them all. Hoping my sisters don’t count them and realize I have more than they do…..

Two more on the table. The little vintage angel peeps came from my mom’s thrift store in Wisconsin. She paid $5 for the box and let me tell you that is about her price point limit. I can’t believe she bought them. I saw a similar set at Savers this year except they didn’t hold candles. They wanted $5 each and I was like ‘No Way’. Now I wish I had gotten them. I suppose they will haunt me like that vintage lemon tablecloth I left there once.

Well, since we are on a Christmas kick, here is our tree.

Hoping you all have a blessed and stress free week. I took this week off. I have to do some baking and wrapping and meet my own personal deadline of having my Christmas cards mailed out by the 15th.

Family boxes have been mailed and the shopping is done, so after the kids Christmas Musical this Friday, I am pretty much home free.

Hot Buttered Rum tomorrow, so you might want to go ahead and get a pair of bigger pants ready to go…….

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Thrift Sharing

  1. Laura says:

    I love your candles! I have some like them that my mother and my grandmother bought back in the ’60’s!

  2. dogsmom says:

    Oh- the friend comment about the skates made me laugh! My son’s friends would have said something similar, or asked if we skated on the same ice we used in the ice box.
    A couple years ago I had a fascination with decorating ice skates and went on thrift store runs looking for the smallest skates I could find. Have I even hung one set? No- but I brought 3 pair home! This year I was fascinated with kids rubber boots, again as accessories.

    Nice tie in to Thrift Share with the deer.

  3. Kathy T says:

    Just one question…..did that little child make it home okay? I had these visions in my head while reading your blog and one thing led to another, and well you know….

  4. Van says:

    You found some AMAZING Christmas bits! I am not having any luck with my vintage ornament hunt!

  5. laura says:

    HA! my sister and I always check to see who has the better deal on what tidbits! So funny:) Missing ATG so I’m looping back through her old thrift shares to find everyone! Come link up to the Penny Worthy Project for a new thrifting link party

Leave a Reply

