Hot Buttered Rum

This stuff is delicious.

Really, really, really good.

And fattening.

You will need to buy new pants if you over indulge. You might want to keep that in mind when you are going for your third cup.

The first thing you need to do is get a quart of good vanilla ice cream. I always use the french vanilla or the double vanilla. You will need to let it set out on the counter for about half an hour or so.

Next you will need a pound of butter.

Yep.

4 sticks.

Melt it up and add a pound of brown sugar.

What’s another pound, right?

Stir it up and add the powdered sugar.

Yep, you guessed it, another pound of the beautious white fluffy stuff.

Now a whisk would have come in handy here, but I didn’t have one of the plastic ones and I didn’t want to scratch my pot so I used a wooden spoon. Hard to get all the lumps out with a wooden spoon.

Of course it just now occurred to me that I could have melted the butter in the microwave instead of going all Ma Ingalls with the stove method.

Feel free to go the 21st century way when you are making yours.

Stir your softened ice cream in. Mix everything up really well.

The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of cinnamon and 2 teaspoons of nutmeg. Feel free to add more. Don’t add less though.

Mix the spices in. Add more if it doesn’t look speckly enough.

Then you will need to dig around in your mess of a cabinet and frantically try to come up with a large enough covered container to hold the mixture. Plus it has to be a container with a lid that you can put in the freezer.

I have absolutely no idea where this container came from.

My own little holiday miracle.

Someone must have left it here at some point this past year. However, it works perfectly and it is now full of my hot buttered rum mix, so if you recognize it as yours, you are going to have to wait until Easter to get it back.

Pop the mixture in the freezer and let it freeze at least 5-6 hours.

Now grab yourself a nice big mug and some more nutmeg. A Christmas mug would have been nice here, but I love my strawberry mugs. They are the absolute perfect size and shape.

It’s all about priorities.

1 ice cream scoop of mix.

You might have some critics that tell you it is too sweet and only use 1/2 the mix next time. These are usually the same freaks who claim to be satisfied with one tiny piece of chocolate.

Ignore them.

1 1/2 shot of rum. I used regular old Bacardi Gold, because that is what I had, but a good dark Jamaican rum would be awesome. Or try some Captain Morgan.

Pour HOT water (like for tea) over everything and let it sit for 10-15 seconds.

Sprinkle the top with a little nutmeg and enjoy.

Let me again warn you that the calorie content of this drink is off the hook, so you might want to just fill your butt pockets with the mix and call it a day.

Or not.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

