New Years Resolutions…….And Cheesecake

I never make resolutions, because, well, you know what they say about the path to hell and how it is paved, but this year is different.

I am taking a break from the annual ‘bug up my butt de-cluttering of the house marathon’ and I am disgusted with the amount of junk I am getting rid of.

SO this year, I am going to cut down on the amount of stuff I bring into the house.

And I have instituted a few rules.

1. If I don’t love it, I am getting rid of it.

2. If I buy something, I have to get rid of some existing thing.

Of course I still have a few days until 2011 and the thrift stores are OVERLOADED with good donations and stuff this time of year……

See what I mean about that path to hell? PAVED, I tell you.

PAVED.

Lucky for those of you who have resolved to lose weight/be healthy next year, there are still 3 days left in 2010. Plenty of time to make this cheese cake.

Mr. Right loves this cheesecake.

Loves.

It.

Oreos and butter make up the crust. I also throw a teaspoon of cinnamon in there to give it a little more character.

And a bit of sugar.

Ok. you are going to need a springform pan for this recipe. No getting around it. Also, get yourself a roll of parchment paper. NOT WAX PAPER. Parchment. Cut the parchment paper to fit the bottom of your pan.

Before

After

Super important to have your cream cheese be at room temperature. If it is cold, it is too hard to beat and your cheesecake will have cream cheese lumps.

Gross

Beat the cream cheese with one cup of sugar.

Add the eggs. It is also apparently helpful if the eggs are at room temperature too.

Don’t ask me why.

Not my rules.

Should look like this when you are done. I used the 1/3 fat cream cheese (bought it by accident) and it turned out just fine.

You need 8 oz. of bittersweet chocolate. Don’t get fooled like me and only buy one bar of the stuff, because if you read closely you will see that it actually says ‘Eight 1/2 oz. squares’. Which, of course adds up to only 4 oz. I threw in 4 oz semi sweet chips and it worked beautifully, so you could skip that deceiving bar altogether and just use chips.

Add two tablespoons heavy cream (don’t skimp on the heavy part).

Microwave for a minute, stir it and then give it another minute.

Add it to the cream cheese mixture all the while ignoring the fact that it looks like a pile of dog poop in a snowbank.

Stir it up.

Now you add a cup of sour cream and a 1/2 cup of coffee liquer. If you don’t have liquer, you can sub a 1/2 cup of really strong coffee, which is what I did. You could add Bailey’s or Kahlua instead of the liquer or you could just skip it altogether.

Don’t use the beaters anymore, just a large spatula or wooden spoon to mix it.

Make sure you spray the sides of your springform pan before you pour the batter in. Will make life much easier.

Whenever I make cheesecake, I always put a cake pan half full of water under it. Supposedly the steam from the water keeps the cheesecake from getting an unsightly crack down the middle. However, this is the only cheesecake I can seem to make ‘crackless’.

All the others end up with a big fat fissure (oooooh big word) down the middle, which I think is perfectly acceptable because it will keep people from accusing your cheesecake of being store bought.

Bake it at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Then turn off the oven and crack the door, but leave the cheesecake inside. Not sure what the purpose of this step is, but it seems to be part of the universal process of making cheesecake.

Leave it in the refrigerator for 12 hours and then pop it out onto a large platter. You could just top it with fresh whipped cream and chocolate shavings or…..

Drown it in ganache.

Happy New Year!

CHOCOLATE CHEESECAKE

1 1/2 cup chocolate cookie crumbs
6 tablespoons cup butter, softened
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Butter one 9 or 10 inch springform pan.

Combine the chocolate wafer crumbs, softened butter, 2 tablespoons white sugar, and the cinnamon. Mix well and press mixture into the buttered springform pan, set aside.

3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese,
softened
1 cup white sugar
3 eggs
8 (1 ounce) squares semisweet
chocolate
2 tablespoons whipping cream
1 cup sour cream
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup coffee flavored liquer
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

 

In a medium sized bowl beat the softened cream cheese until smooth. Gradually add 1 cup white sugar mixing until well blended. Add eggs, one at a time. Beat at low speed until very smooth.

Melt the 8 ounces semisweet chocolate with 2 tablespoons whipping cream in a pan or bowl set over boiling water, stir until smooth.

Add chocolate mixture to cream cheese mixture and blend well. Stir in sour cream, salt and coffee liquer. Stir until smooth and pour into prepared pan.

Bake in the center of oven at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 45 minutes. Center will be soft but will firm up when chilled. Do not over bake. Leave cake in oven with the heat turned off and the door ajar for 45 minutes. Remove cake from oven and chill for 12 hours.

Top with fresh whipped cream just before serving. If you prefer ganache topping, melt 9 oz of semi sweet chocolate chips with 1 cup of heavy cream in the microwave (about 2 minutes) Stir until smooth. Allow ganache to cool for about 5 minutes and then pour over cheesecake allowing it to run down the sides. Refrigerate another hour before serving.

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

