First Thrift Share of 2011

Happy New Year to all my thrifty friends!

And to the not so thrifty as well!

I know a lot of people get the ‘end of the holidays’ blues about this time of year, but I can say with 100% certainty that I am not one of them. I love the way the house looks after the tree is gone and all the gifts are put away.

Plus, the thrift stores are overflowing this time of year with all the stuff that people dropped off to get their end of year donation receipt.

I am linking up today with Apron Thrift Girl for the first thrift share party of the new year.

I actually experienced a New Years thrift miracle, because I hit the store on New Years Day (despite Mr. Right grumbling that nothing is ever open on New Years, waste of time, gas, yada yada yada) and guess what? Not only were they open, but most of the thrift community must have been in mind set of Mr. Right and figured the thrift was closed, so they stayed home.

Or they were sleeping it off……

At any rate, I had the place to myself for 45 minutes.

WoooHooo

But I didn’t find a whole lot, which was rather a bummer (especially after my beaded ornament haul a few weeks ago). Plus I did this whole resolution type promise about not bringing more ‘stuff’ in the house, so I could only buy things for resale or if I super love it.

Of course I wasn’t going to leave these sweet vases there at $1.50 each.

My first piece of Hoosier glass.

Or maybe my second. I swear I had another vase marked Hoosier, but danged if I can find it anywhere.

A vintage Kromex tiered dessert tray for $3.50. Super loved this because I had picked up the large 3 tiered matching piece back in June.

And that is it my friends.

I am completely serious about sticking to my resolution.

Wait and see.

Something I picked up for ebay. $4 for this vintage hot roller set from GE. Hoping to sell it for $25-30.

I also scored a few new work shirts for Mr. Right and some yoga pants for me.

You know, yoga pants/exercise type pants?

For my other New Years resolution thing.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Thrift Share of 2011

  1. Van says:

    Excellent thrifting finds this weekend. I can’t wait to hunt through the end-of-the-year donations this weekend.

Leave a Reply

