So OVAH It!

This my backyard.

Ok, can’t lie since most of you are friends.

Not my backyard.

This is my backyard.

And I miss it.

I have been cold since Thanksgiving and I don’t love it. There must really be some truth to the old adage that your blood thins out in warmer climates because I grew up in the not-so-tropical region of Northern Wisconsin where it’s not uncommon to get sideswiped by a blizzard every now and then.

In April.

From Wisconsin I moved to the less than balmy town of Caribou, Maine.

Dude.

Even the name is cold.

I lived there (3 miles from the Canadian border) for 5 long, cold, snowy years dodging black ice and moose so my blood should have been thick as fudge (mmmmm, fudge).

But you guys, I am dying this year.

Which I know is making all my Wisconsin friends (and my two Canadian pals) roll their eyes to the backs of their head and sigh in a ‘disgusted with weather wimps’ kind of way.

Maybe I am turning into one of those elderly old women who wears 17 layers when it is 105 outside.

I can’t stop thinking about summer.

Pool days, sunscreen, sangria, books, magazines, beach towels and our annual Wisconsin sabbatical.

Oooooh. And the 4th of July!

I LOVE the 4th of July. The parade, the flag cake, the party at Julie’s the dirty kids, the fire run, the fireworks, the whole red white & blue of everything!

So I am shoring myself up with all the things I have to look forward to until summer, which mercifully begins here about the time the last blizzard hits my hometown.

Here, in no particular order is my ‘fun things to do till we go to Wisconsin’ list:

Valentines Day, Girls weekend to San Francisco, Packer playoff game (hopefully games) Superbowl, 2nd Annual Spring Sangria Party, Sangria, First Pool Day of the Year, Easter, Memorial Day, Trip to Oatman AZ Ghost Town, St. Patricks Day Parade, Easter, Max’s birthday, Taking walks when it is warmer than 40 degrees…..

The list goes on.

I think I’ll make it.

Been crazy busy trying to list all my spring ebay stuff.

Bought this tunic top last week for $10. Normally I would not pay that  much, but the Anthropologie tag was still attached. Sold it two days later for $68!

Also have big plans to watch my beloveds at 1:30 on Sunday.

Celebrating their playoff berth by making the 1966 winner of the Pillsbury Bake Off…….

The Tunnel of Fudge Cake.

WooooHoooo

Go Pack Go

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

