Wishing For Spring and More Rambling

Can’t wait for spring so I can display my newest treasures.

And also because I am tired of cold feet and chapped claw-like hands.

Linking up with Apron Thrift Girl for Thrift Share Monday, my favorite day of the week!

I found 3 of these paper mache eggs with the cool patterned insides stamped ‘Made in Germany’ no idea if they are vintage or just ‘vintagey’ but I love them. I fell to my knees and praised the heavens right there in the thrift store aisle when I saw that there were in fact 3.

Because, you know I have 3 kids.

And they fight.

Sometimes it makes me so crazy that I gather myself up and leave for several hours, which is exactly what happened the day that I ventured into the thrift and found these little pretties sitting on the shelf.

I left Mr. Right in charge and hotfooted it over to Savers where I found my treasure (a whole 99 cents each), picked out a paperback and then headed to the bar.

I stayed there and read a few chapters, watched the Seahawks game, drank two glasses of house white and ate a baja chicken quesadilla.

ALL.

BY.

MYSELF.

Then I ordered dessert.

No one cried, no one yelled, not one other person there even asked for a bite of my dessert.

So I took advantage of the peace and played words with friends on my iphone and read a couple more chapters of my book. I was still felling pretty good, so I researched paper mache eggs from Germany and plotted my Easter party.

I was so distracted by the peace and quiet that I could not come to a definite conclusion on the age of the eggs, so I gave up and contemplated going to a movie, but the movie I wanted to see was not playing.

I wanted to see ‘Country Strong’ because I love country music and I heard that it was reminiscent of ‘Pure Country’ which happens to be one of the best movies EVAH and I am not even kidding because it stars guess who??

Oh.

Oh. Oh. Oh.

So of course I was all in the mood to see a good country love story except that the only movie playing that I even remotely could consider was ‘The King’s Speech’. Colin Firth stars, and he is not bad to look at, but he is no G.S.

Know what I mean?

Plus The Kings Speech had this whole English Period thing going on and it looked like it might be semi intellectual and also whenever I watch movies that are set in England, I have a heck of a time understanding what they are saying. So I really didn’t want to have to work that hard at watching a movie, you know?

Just entertain me while I sit like a big large sloth and eat my popcorn and raisinets.

It’s all I ask from the cinematic experience.

So I just went home (where noise and chaos and dirty laundry reigned) and watched the Jets game.

All in all it was a pretty good day.

I never did get the Tunnel of Fudge cake made, though which was a complete dissappointment to Max, because he is insistent that January 6th was ‘Cake Day’ and we forgot to celebrate it.

According to Max ‘Cake Day is “where you eat cake for breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner”. I can kind of get behind that holiday, so I am working on the Tunnel of Fudge cake tonight. Expect to see it later this week.

OH!

Big Fat Congrats to my beloved Green Bay Packers who won their wild card playoff game yesterday!

WOOOOHOOOO

I super love them even if the game was so stressful that I hid outside in the backyard for the final minute and missed the game ending interception, which now I am kind of bummed about. The Packers go to Atlanta on Saturday so I am going to try and watch the whole game this time.

And HEY!

I forgot to tell you that I am running away this weekend and will be watching said Packer game in the Bay Area.

WoooooHoooo again.

Kids are not going.

Yesssssssss!

I completely apologize for the disjointedness of my rambling thoughts and also for the super huge rabbit trail off the original subject of Thrift Share Monday.

Back in a few days with the Tunnel of Fudge delightfulness.

Have a great Monday!

 

 

 

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Kids, thrift, Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wishing For Spring and More Rambling

  1. Van says:

    Adorable eggs. I miss spring, too!

  2. AnneMarie Sanford says:

    Um, hello? Why and who are you going to the see in the Bay? I was just there for 6 weeks. I am so bummed I will miss you. Are you going to see the Halls?

  3. dogsmom says:

    Silly me, I had to make a quick run to the grocery store, not imagining that everybody else in town HAD to get there before the game started. Although town population is only a few hundred, I think they brought relatives along to shop. Can’t imagine there was a vacant bar stool anywhere in the county.
    The eggs are very very cool and if we add our wishs together maybe we can get spring here earlier?
    I wait til movies are available on tv or DVD but both of those sound good and I don’t think you’d have trouble following King’s Speech, except his stutter?

  4. Monica says:

    Those eggs are darling!

  5. Eleanor says:

    Those eggs are gorgeous! Let’s hope your kids don’t pelt each other with them!

  6. Leah says:

    Sweet Easter eggs. 🙂

  7. laura says:

    so I need the tunnel of fudge cake recipe because anything called the tunnel of fudge cake must investigated and I AM A FOOD BLOGGER–so I’ll be BACK looking for the recipe –my kids argue fuss and fight too it drives me nuts!

Leave a Reply

