Five, Six, Pick Up Stix

Am I super creative with my post titles or what?

OK-super sorry to my Wisconsin friends (and my two Canadian buds) because I know that your weather is NOWHERE near grilling weather, but you can totally tuck this away until it warms up.

Praise to the heavens that we had a couple of warm days last week because I have fah-reezing lately. It climbed up to 74 on Monday and we just had to take advantage of the grill.

More than likely, you have all of these things in your pantry right now. My lemon was super old, but there was, thankfully, still a tablespoon of juice inside it so it all worked out.

Have I told you that I want a lemon tree? Like, really really really badly? I saw so many in California and I mentioned it to my friend and she said her neighbor has one and it produces crazy lemons. I didn’t think you could have lemon trees in NV, so I quick texted Mr. Right about my lemon tree love.

‘Hey, I really really really want a lemon tree’

‘K’

‘No, really want one.  Tracy’s neighbor has one in her backyard and it grows lemons like crazy. Can you, like, find one at Home Depot or something?’

‘Ya’

‘Maybe for Valentines Day or Mothers Day, cause I really didn’t love that Seal a Meal thing’

‘K’

So help me, I am getting a lemon tree! If I have to dig the one out of Tracy’s neighbors yard and re-plant it myself, I will, but I am getting one.

Watch and see.

So you just basically throw everything into the bowl and whisk it up. The recipe calls for fresh rosemary, but of course I forgot to pick it up at the store and, oh,  by the way I also want a rosemary bush.

Trim all the fat off the chicken breasts and dice them up. Try to get past the fact that they are indeed a little like human flesh.

Make sure they are nice uniform sized chunks or the smaller ones will burn and the bigger ones will not cook all the way through and you’ll be exposed to salmonella or trichinosis or whatever malady it is that comes from eating partially cooked chicken.

Throw it in the (very ugly) marinade and let it sit in the fridge for an hour or so.

I must have lost a bunch of pictures somewhere, because I can’t find any of the uncooked skewered chicken. Probably my kids were playing with my camera again and I have a million pictures of random inanimate objects and a few videos of the insides of their mouths instead of my nicely skewered chunks.

No matter. You can kinda get the gist of skewering without a play by play right?

Grill them up for about 10-12 minutes and voila!

Mr. Right said it was the best chicken he EVAH ate. Perhaps I can hang this over his head in my never ending quest for a lemon tree.

That’s all I got. I am off to make donuts for the kids and secretly dream about the Superbowl party I am going to have if Green Bay wins the NFC championship Sunday.

I have big plans. BIG.

But I don’t want to count my chickens before they hatch, ya know?

Like Mr. Right did last year when he totally thought the Vikings were bringing home the Halas trophy and making a bid for the Lombardi award.

Except.

People, I must be psycho psychic, because I actually thought the Vikes were going to the Superbowl and in a petty fit of rage I said out loud ‘This is usually about the time he throws an interception’.

Whoomph.

Game over.

Okay-I am seriously out, because the donuts are not going to make themselves. However, I cannot bear to leave you without a gratuitous photo of Clay Matthews arms and also a warning that if GB wins, I am running out to my front yard and screaming WOOOOOHOOOO so loudly that you will be able to hear me wherever you are (even you Tim & Jo).

Go Pack Go!

 

RANCH GRILLED CHICKEN KABOB THINGS

1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup ranch dressing
3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon minced fresh rosemary
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon white vinegar
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper, or to
taste
1 tablespoon white sugar, or to taste
(optional)
5 skinless, boneless chicken breast
halves – cut into 1 inch cubes

In a medium bowl, stir together the olive oil, ranch dressing, Worcestershire sauce, rosemary, salt, lemon juice, white vinegar, pepper, and sugar. Let stand for 5 minutes. Place chicken in the bowl, and stir to coat with the marinade. Cover and refridgerate for an hour.

Preheat the grill for medium-high heat. Thread chicken onto skewers and discard marinade.

Lightly oil the grill grate. Grill skewers for 8 to 12 minutes, or until the chicken is no longer pink and the juices run clear.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five, Six, Pick Up Stix

  1. Cousin Mary says:

    My mom has a lemon tree and has many lemons on it right now. She started it from a seed when I was like 4. Remeber we live in Minnesota which is currently colder then Wisconsin. So if we have lemon trees you surely should.

  2. Kristin says:

    Those sound absolutely delicious!

  3. Sister Cindy says:

    Looks like Grandma Mutters’ satay receipe (also spelled sate’) Make it for the super bowl as Da bears Still suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! C

Leave a Reply

