Retro Kitchenware

Happy Monday!!

Oh.

And it’s SUPERBOWL week!!!

WOOOOOOHOOOOO!

Linking up today with Apron Thrift Girl for Thrift Share Monday.

A stupendous find this past week! I love love LOVE my new chrome canisters! Thinking they are 50’s-60’s era. Paid $4 for each of the large and $2 for the small ones. They are marked ‘Signature’ made in the U.S.A. I was nosing around the shelves and saw the flour canister, but it was all alone. I was totally bummed because I have seen many single chrome canisters before, but I wanted the whole set.

THEN

Another aisle or two over, on the bottom shelf with the travel coffee mugs, were the sugar, coffee and tea. Could not believe my luck.

For a millisecond, I thought about listing them on ebay, but it truly was love at first sight. They are now happy at home on my kitchen counter. And Holy hard to photograph! I must have took 25 pictures of these. How does one photograph shiny objects? I kept ending up with my reflection in the canisters, and well, you know, it adds 10 pounds.

*rabbit trail*

Have you ever seen the ebay tea kettle auction with the naked guy in the teapot reflection?

Or the naked guy in the mirror (same one or different?) photographing his dining room table?

Yikes

I finally had to do this weird Mary Lou Retton meets Kareem Abdul Jabbar twisting jump shot of a photograph so you would be spared my ‘not naked’ reflection.

Also picked up this vintage wood framed picture. It is marked Florentia, hand made in Italy. Couldn’t resist the colors. It is hanging in my bedroom.

I think it is a geranium, but I am far from a horticulture expert type person, so maybe not.

$3 worth of lovely happiness.

Found a few other odds and ends that are headed to ebay. One is a verrrrry interesting vase. I will share it with you soon, need to get it photographed.

I also made a sort of resolution this year which has now turned into a kind of obsessive goal. I am not going to buy a single piece of retail clothing for the forseeable future. I want to go the whole year, but am going to commit to ‘until at least June’ for right now.

So far, so good. I picked up a sweet little vintage silk dress this past week for $7. I also got these, like new and my size.

Clarks Unstructured

Off to a good start with ‘upcycled’ clothing items.

The rest of this week will be a flurry of activity planning for our Superbowl party on Sunday. I told Mr. Right if the Packers ever went I was throwing the biggest party in town and I am sticking to it. He is super happy about that.

No, really.

He got a new tv out of the deal, so he really is super happy.

Off to find all the green and gold decorations in the world…..

Go Pack Go!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Retro Kitchenware

  1. Alyssa says:

    Oooooh, shiny! Those are amazing. I know this, because I saw that exact set about 3 months ago in the thrift shop. I didn’t get them, and yes. I do regret it.

  2. OMGoodness. It must have been the week for canisters. I found some almost just like yours, except for the labels. How cool!!!!

    Tiffany

  3. Betty says:

    Those are wonderful canisters – definitely mid-century. And your photos are great.

Leave a Reply

