Best Pulled Pork EVAH

So, some of you might have heard that there is this, like, big football game this weekend, or something like that.

GO PACK GO!

So, anyways, I thought maybe somebody might be having a party to, I don’t know, celebrate or something.

I figured you might be looking for a new recipe to try and this one won’t disappoint.

Hands down, the best pulled pork I have ever eaten.

These are the spices you will need. You also need two bay leaves, but I was out. Bay leaves are one of those things that never makes it onto the weekly grocery list along with milk, bread and eggs, so it could be awhile before I actually remember to buy them. My dad put bay leaves in everything. He loved them.

Loved.

Them.

Salt, garlic powder and cumin.

Add coriander and oregano.

Tiny pinch of cinnamon. Really. Tiny.

4 lb pork roast. I have used shoulder, boneless loin, bone in, etc and the results are all amazing. Make sure you trim all the excess fat off beforehand.

Rub the spice mixture on the roast.

Then carefully pour the chicken broth around the roast. Don’t let it rinse any of the spices off the meat. The recipe calls for 2 cups chicken broth. 1 can is just shy of 2 cups, so I threw in a little white wine because I didn’t want to open another whole  can of chicken broth even though it would never bother me to open another bottle of wine…….

The trick to this pulled pork is that you MUST (must must must) turn it over halfway through the cooking process.

I cooked it on high for 6 hours. This is the halfway mark when I flipped it over.

Then I got busy with Lifetime movies and forgot to take pictures of when it was finished, but I did manage to get a picture of the sandwiches. You could top them with barbeque sauce if you wanted, but I like them just like this.

Run out right now and buy a big piece of pork for your Superbowl party.

Hurry!

PULLED PORK

1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon crumbled dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 (4 pound) boneless pork shoulder roast
2 bay leaves
2 cups chicken broth
Mix together salt, garlic powder, cumin, oregano, coriander, and cinnamon in a bowl. Coat pork with the spice mixture. Place the bay leaves in the bottom of a slow cooker and place the pork on top. Pour the chicken broth around the sides of the pork, being careful not to rinse off the spice mixture.
Cover and cook on Low until the pork shreds easily with a fork, about 8-10 hours or high for 6hours. Turn the meat halfway. When the pork is tender, remove from slow cooker, and shred with two forks. Use cooking liquid as needed to moisten the meat.
About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

