Cinnamon Rolls

Holy Crap.

Cinnamon Rolls are hard to make.

And they take a long time. You have to heat up milk, check it’s temperature, knead the dough, let it rise, roll them out, roll them up, let them rise again, bake them, make the frosting,  frost them and eat them as fast as you can.

But they are Mr. Right’s favorite and he is completely worth the process.

Mostly.

Of course I ate two, because they were so good and now today I have Pilsbury Doughboy Gluten Gut.

But you know what?

Completely worth it.

People who say stuff like “Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels’…

Lie.

Or.

‘The last bite is never as good as the first’…

Complete fabrication.

If you want them ready first thing in the morning, you should make them the night before and let them rise in the fridge. Take them out and let them get to room temperature before you bake them. If you have two hours to waste on a Saturday morning and don’t care if they are not done until lunchtime, knock yourself out.

I use the quick rising yeast because I am impatient.

I am also lacking a bread machine. I used to have one. Mr. Right bought one for me years ago for Christmas and I made a loaf of bread in it but it was weird. Can’t explain the weirdness of it, it just wasn’t right. So I never used the bread machine again. I think I sold it at a yard sale.

I am kind of regretting it now because I think maybe it was operator error and not the bread machine’s fault. I mentioned to Mr. Right yesterday during the cinnamon roll making marathon that maybe I wanted another bread machine. He super huffed and puffed about the one he had gotten me and I sold and he would NEVAH buy another bread machine.

Boo Hoo.

Like I couldn’t go on Amazon right now and order a bread machine if I felt like it.

Hmmph.

Or maybe trade in the stupid ‘Seal A Meal’ thing from two Christmases ago that I never asked for.

Really.

Who gives a seal a meal for Christmas?

At any rate, I am not completely sure about a bread machine. I kind of like the whole kneading/rising/punching down thing. Makes me feel very crunchy, granola, hippie like to make my rolls without modern technology. Well, minus the fast rising yeast part.

Okay-Here are some pictures. I am adding them all at the end, because I am typing this on the laptop on the couch and all the pics are on the pc in the office and I am quite lazy this morning and not done drinking coffee, so I really don’t want to walk all the way over to the office.

It’s like, 10 feet away.

Your eggs are supposed to be at room temp. I also forgot the brown sugar in this picture.

You need a really big space to roll them out. Clearing a space will add an additional 5-10 minutes to the process depending on how much crap your kids have left lying around.

Use the rapid rise, shaves some time off the process because you can skip the whole stressful ‘adding the yeast to warm water until it dissolves’ step.

Although I am a big fan of ‘winging it’, you really want the correct temp for the milk. Don’t guess.

Hmmmm. I guess I do have a bread machine, it’s called a hand…..

I let it rest/rise for about 20 minutes. (Remember this is only with the quick rise yeast-if you use regular, you’ll have to figure it out on your own-you over achiever, you!)

You want to roll it out quick so it doesn’t dry out.

Oh! Oh Oh Oh! I forgot to tell you about my new super cool vintage rolling pin with the chippy green painted handles! It will be in tomorrows thrift share post, so come back!

16 inches across by 21 inches long. (Yes, I measure it…) and cover it with a cloth while you mix up the brown sugar and cinnamon.

Ok. This part is pretty fun.

Cut the ends off so you don’t have dry, misshapen cinnamon rolls. Although, if you glopped enough frosting on them probably no one would notice or care.

Don’t squish your rolls when slicing them. Some people swear by using sewing thread to slice these up. You just put the thread under the dough and pull the two ends up. I use a sharp serrated knife and it works just fine.

Give them some space, because they are going to rise some more and will puff out in the oven.

I find an aluminum cake pan to work the best for these. Make sure you grease the heck out of it. I let them rise another 45 mintes or so. They don’t really look much different than before, but the recipe said let them rise, so I did.

As soon as you take them out of the oven, get the frosting made! HURRY!

You want to frost them while they are still warm so that the frosting gets all melty and runs into every little cinnamon roll crevice there is.

The recipe I am posting calls for cream cheese icing, but Mr.Right ‘likes them better’ (go back and read that in a kind of whiny voice) with just plain buttercream icing, and, you know, anything for Mr. Right…..

She doesn’t discriminate against cream cheese icing. An equal opportunity frosting eater, just like her mom.

 

CINNAMON ROLLS

(Since most of the free world bakers own bread machines, I have posted the recipe assuming that)

1 cup warm milk (110 degrees F/45
degrees C)
2 eggs, room temperature
1/3 cup margarine, melted
4 1/2 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup white sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons bread machine yeast
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1/3 cup butter, softened
1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese,
softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

Place ingredients in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle; press Start.

After the dough has doubled in size turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, cover and let rest for 10 minutes. In a small bowl, combine brown sugar and cinnamon.

Roll dough into a 16×21 inch rectangle. Spread dough with 1/3 cup butter and sprinkle evenly with sugar/cinnamon mixture. Roll up dough and cut into 12 rolls. Place rolls in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking pan. Cover and let rise until nearly doubled, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).

Bake rolls in preheated oven until golden brown, about 15-20 minutes. While rolls are baking, beat together cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, confectioners’ sugar, vanilla extract and salt. Spread frosting on warm rolls before serving.

Eat two.

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Taped Up Buns | Feels Like Time

  2. blondevixen says:

    Do you have this recipe sans bread machine? I make bread by hand, so I don’t have a bread machine! But these look delish and I’d love to make them.

    • Janice says:

      HAH! I also do not have a bread machine-I just make the dough with quick rise yeast and follow the recipe exactly after that part!

      Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

