Taped Up Buns

Hey! I am posting this as fast as I can for Thrift Share Monday because it is actually Sunday night and I have been waiting FOREVAH for the Real Housewives of OC premiere!

Linking up with the fabulous Apron Thrift Girl for thrifty good times!

Who cares if it is only coming up on St. Patrick’s Day? Couldn’t pass this little vintage yummy up for $2.

LOVE it! $2 for this wooden rolling pin with the chippy painted green handles. Actually most of the paint has worn away. I wish I could have a bite of every pie this little beauty has ever rolled a crust for.

I love pie.

I used it Saturday for cinnamon rolls. It is a little thinner than my red handled one I found last summer. How lucky am I? A vintage red AND a Vintage green handled rolling pin.

Vintage West Bend Bun Warmer for $4.  Again with the hard to photograph aluminum! This was $3.75 and the thrift store employee taped the hello out of it. They tape lids to bottoms all the time and it is nearly impossible to get tape residue off of aluminum. I tried everything, even my never fail WD-40.

It failed.

I was enraged. I wanted to fly down to Savers and find the tape master and kick his shins.

They had it taped up like Neptune’s crown was inside or something.

Seriously.

I have seen hostages less restrained than my poor bun warmer.

$1.50 for this square of material.

Remember my marvelous score of Culver glasses from January?

Can’t wait for my Spring Sangria Party!

Housewives are waiting…

Have a great week!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taped Up Buns

  1. Mary Marvin says:

    Try Goo-Gone. Magic stuff use it all the time.

  2. Laurie says:

    Cute bun warmer! I know, right? The tape thing! The other thing my thrift store does that really annoys me is they wrap up breakables in whatever linen you are also buying; I have broken two things this way, when they slip out and crash to my garage floor, or once when I just plain forgot it was there. Argh!

  3. Lana says:

    The best time to find holiday stuff is when it is nowhere near the holiday! By the way, I have my mother’s rolling pin which looks exactly like yours. I use it whenever I make pies. Dontcha just love those old kitchen utensils! Come visit me at Life at Wildberry Cottage.

  4. Angela says:

    I typically use Magic Erasers to get sticky residue off…it generally works.

  5. Swampgirl says:

    My favorite stores use a lot of tape as well! Get off as much as you can, then smear peanut butter on the residue. Wait a few minutes. Wash with hot water and Dawn. Works great!

  6. Bek says:

    Try rubbing eucalyptus oil on the sticky residue- works for me! 🙂

  7. sue says:

    I do not know if you will see this, but here goes; soak the item in water with Dawn…gets most of the stuff off. If all else fails, Goo Gone is dah bomb!

Leave a Reply

