Sore Throats & Hot Toddys

Been quiet this week as I finally came down with the sickness that struck the rest of the family a few weeks ago. Of course I couldn’t be sick when they were all sick and lethargic.

Noooo.

I had to wait until everyone was feeling groovy and had all their energy back.

Spent a lot of time in bed drinking hot tea and watching the first season of The Middle.

Holy funny shows!

If you have never watched it, you need to. Wednesday nights on ABC.

Made a hot toddy in lieu of Nyquil one night and regretted it. Perhaps it was the cheap brandy, but I did not love it. The recipe I had called for honey, lemon, hot tea and brandy. Maybe it was the chai tea, but it smelled like throw up and Grandpa Hoffman all rolled together.

If I ever make another it will be just honey, hot water, lemon and brandy.

No Tea.

This morning I am feeling a little bit better. Drinking my first cup of coffee since Wednesday because it hurt my throat.

Why do you suppose hot tea feels good on a sore throat, but hot coffee does not? Another mystery to ponder.

In other news, I found 3 1/2 gallons of ice cream on clearance for a dollar each yesterday!(remember my sore throat…)

One Dollar!

One G.W.!

They weren’t even lame kinds like Butter Brickle or Neopolitan. You can imagine my joy. I refrained from dancing the Macarena right there in the frozen food aisle, though. Mostly because (and this is hard to believe) I can’t remember all the moves anymore.

Today Gabby and Max are in the traveling children’s theater production of King Arthurs Quest.

The Missoula Childrens Theatre is in town with their little red truck. They basically drive around the country stopping in different cities and host these productions. They bring all the props, costumes, set stuff, etc and set up shop in local schools or community rec centers. Kids in kindegarten through 12th grade audition on Monday after school and then if they make the cut, attend rehearsal every night that week and then present two performances on Saturday. After the last performance, they pack up the little red truck and head to the next location.

So today Gabby is starring as a Camelotian and Max is a Mini Blue Squire.

This should be good.

Still trying to come up with a plan for the leprechaun trap next week, so if you have any ideas, let me know.

Oh, and I am playing Bunco tonight for the very first time.

That’s it. Think I have caught you all up on the latest news. Sorry for the lack of pictures. My throat is still kinda sore….

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

