Elvis’ Favorite Muffins

Ok-maybe not Elvis favorite, because there is a substantial lack of fat & sugar in these muffins and no bacon.

Or quaaludes.

And they are not fried in grease or served up by bikini beach bingo babes that burst into song.

But I think he would still like them.

Or not.

Mr. Right thinks they are horrible, due to the lack of fat and sugar, but my favorite friend Evan loves them. Evan is super healthy and rides his bike everywhere and goes to the gym a lot, so it makes sense that he would adore super healthy muffins.

Mr. Right, well, not so much bike riding or gym time.

So a few weeks ago Evan asks if there is a way to combine his 3 favorite ingredients (coincidentally, also some of Elvis’ favorite ingredients) into a baked good.

1. Oatmeal

2. Peanut Butter

3. Bananas

Just for comparison sake, my three favorite ingredients are:

1. Wine

2. Cake

3. Ice cream

And can I just say that I used to have a super huge crush on the young hot Elvis? I think I might have been married to him in another life or something. I have a weird connection with him. This proclamation has caused my neices and nephews to refer to him as Uncle Elvis.

*Swoon*

I started with whole wheat flour (again, because of the health factor) and oatmeal.

Ok. I lied about the fat. Totally forgot how fatty peanut butter is.

Really does not look very delicious here.

Um, yeah. Looks even worse stirred up.

I truly wanted to add some mini chocolate chips, but was keeping with the whole healthy vision of the muffin, but you can be sure that the next time there will be mini chips.

Also thinking mini chips would be delightful in Cinnamon Rolls.

Looks better in the actual muffin pan and OH, by the way, this is THE ONLY muffin recipe I have ever used that actually made exactly  twelve muffins. For some reason I am only ever able to yield 11 muffins out of my recipes, which drives me crazy, or I have leftover muffin batter.

Still sad at the lack of chocolate chips.

These are surprisingly moist and fluffy without all the added oil & sugar. Be warned, these are NOT sweet. You can definitely taste the peanut butter and banana though, but if you like sweet, use brown sugar in place of the honey.

And add chocolate chips.

 

PEANUT BUTTER BANANA OATMEAL MUFFINS

1 cup flour (white or whole wheat)

1 cup quick cook oats

1/2 tablespoon of baking powder

1/3 cup honey OR brown sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter (smooth or chunky)

1 egg

1 cup skim milk

2 mashed bananas

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix together dry ingredients (including brown sugar if you are using in place of honey) and set aside.

Whisk together egg, milk, peanut butter, honey, milk and vanilla.

Add wet mixture and mashed bananas to dry mixture and stir until just combined.

At this point, feel free to add nuts, raisins, chocolate chips, or whatever floats your boat. Just a handful or two.

Spoon into greased or paper lined muffin pan.

Bake for 15-18 minutes.

Find Elvis.

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elvis’ Favorite Muffins

  1. Dana says:

    Okay…these sound super yummy!!! Is it still considered a healthy recipe if I eat the whole batch?

  2. Terri says:

    These are great! They are very filling and perfect since I am nursing and hungry all of the time. I made these this afternoon and put most of them in the freezer for when I return to work. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

