Cock A Doodle Doo

Hey all!

Happy Monday! Linking up with Apron Thrift Girl for Thrift Share Monday. Be sure to head over and check out the thrift bonanza!

I have really been trying to not bring more stuff into the house. I just don’t need it and I don’t want anymore things to dust or take care of. Along those lines, I think the lemon tree is not going to survive me.

This caught my eye. I love the brown drippy glaze and the skinny rooster. It was $3.

Was thinking about keeping it just because it is a piece of Hull, but deviled eggs gross me out so I am planning to list this in my ebay store for $45.

I also found another candlestick ($1.50) that goes with the set I found a few weeks ago. I will be using that set at a spring party this weekend.

Been sticking to my pledge of not buying retail except I must confess I have caved 3 times.

I am highly unlikely to buy a Packer Superbowl shirt in the thrift store and it was a definite need, even at the flinch price of $20. I also needed some new walking shoes and while I have no problem buying shoes at the thrift, exercise shoes are more personal and so I did go ahead and purchase these new, but on super sale at overstock $44. The other piece I couldn’t come by at the thrift was a St. Patrick’s Day shirt. I love St. Patrick’s Day and again, needed a shirt to wear to the parade. It set me back $7 at Target, but I kind of consider it a wash because I found Mr. right’s St. P Day shirt at the thrift.

$71, that’s it for retail this year. Positively confident I can make it until June. I really want to try for the whole year, but I know I will be hitting the Packer store when I go to Wisconsin this summer.

Here are some of the no retail pieces I have picked up this year:

Clarks for $8 (retail $110), cute black heels for $5 (not sure on retail) Danskos for $5 (retail $120)

Vintage dress from Neiman Marcus $7

Sweaters from Ann Taylor, Ann Taylor loft and Chaus for $4-5 apiece (retail $40-$80) and a cute shirt for $3

Picked up a few more pieces this weekend that I haven’t photographed yet, most are new with tags. Brand new White House Black Market cardigan for $6. The $88 tag was still attached.

Lots of goodies in the thrift right now, I think people are doing some spring cleaning!

That’s all I got for today. Reallllllly need to get listing on ebay, plus I have a long day of yelling at the dog and listening to kids fight ahead of me, so I need to go refill my coffee.

Have a great week!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cock A Doodle Doo

  1. Pauline Zifko says:

    i admire your commitment of not buying retail…i try to do the same as much as possible…you inspire me each week to take the time to find some treasures…cannot wait until garage sale seasons starts around here…xo

  2. Johanna says:

    Thought I would say hello! I am new to your blog, and have spent several hours “catching up” on your past posts. I found your site via a circuitous route (daughter-in-law’s blog to her sister’s blog to her friend’s blog to… YOU)! I love your infectious sense of humor and your obvious love for your family. And I love to read about the wonderful things you find via thrift stores, garage sales, etc. Anyway, from one 58-year-old Oregon mom of five and grammy of two, a heartfelt hello to you! God bless you!

    • Janice says:

      Nice to meet you! I adore Oregon! My brother lives in Klamath falls. Took a scary drive around Crater Lake a few years ago-No guard rails, WTH? They do have some fabulous antique stores there!

Leave a Reply

