Dog Day at the Thrift

YAY for Thrift Share Monday! Linking up with Apron Thrift Girl for the thrift party. Lots of goodies this week. That’s how it goes, sometimes you’re the windshield, sometimes you’re the bug. Been the bug for awhile as far as finding good junk goes.

This week?

All windshield baby!

4 more pink swirl Arocoroc cups. Arocoroc is vintage glass wear from France. Cups were 50 cents each. I have 2 already and am going to throw the lot of 6 up on ebay, hoping for $15-$20.

4 sweet little brown drip glazed coffee cups. Look closely because ‘one of these things is not like the others, one of these things just doesn’t belong’.

Is that little ditty from *cough*potsmoker*cough* Captain Kangaroo or Sesame Street?

Can’t recall. At any rate 3 of the cups are Taylor ironstone. Love the brown drip.

LOVE it.

But what’s this little surprise hiding under the thrift store sticker?

I am keeping this one! Been drinking my coffee out of it all weekend and I swear it tastes better!

This little bowl was $2.50. I super love it. Looks like a snowflake in the middle.

Marked Bassett Czecoslovakia. Can’t find any info on it, doesn’t matter as I am keeping it anyways.

Not a lot of use for thermoses here in the desert. Maybe once a year at the Christmas parade, although this year I could have used a thermos at the St. Patrick’s Day parade too.

These are both headed for ebay. They were kinda pricey, but I liked them and couldn’t leave them there. Paid $7 for the big one and $4 for the little one. Hoping to sell the set for $50-$60.

Ooooooh

Saved the best for last. This set of vintage bar glasses features racing greyhounds.  The set originally had 8 glasses, but is down to seven now. Each dog is sporting a different number. A vintage, pre wine charm way to tell your drinks apart. Sadly, the number 7 dog is missing. Cost me $4.80 for the set.

We used to own a greyhound. He was not a former racer though. Apparently they are fierce hunters and desert ranchers use them to hunt coyotes. Duke was a former hunter, which is hard to believe because he was the biggest baby ever and used to be frightened of the gecko lizards, so I can hardly imagine him leading the charge at a hunt.

At any rate, Greyhounds are some of the most special, loveable, gentle dogs you can ever find. They DO NOT need a lot of exercise, a persistent myth which keeps lots of people from adopting the former racers. Duke would poop out after a one mile walk. Practically had to carry him home from the park.

He lives with my sister in AZ now. He was getting old and starting to have trouble getting up and down the stairs at our house.

Back to the thrift share…

Found a pair of two similar glasses on ebay, interestingly enough, one of the two was the #7 dog!

The set of two sold for $16.

I am hoping  to sell this set of 7 for $60ish.

That’s mostly it. Picked up a few other clothing odds and ends. Betsey Johnson dress, Suzi Chin dress and a couple of dresses from Anthropologie. Hoping to get everything listed today. Can I just say how much more fun shopping is than listing?

Have a great week!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dog Day at the Thrift

  1. Great Finds! Loved your greyhound story… I’ve only heard great stories about them.

  2. Grace says:

    Wow, you had a good weekend! I am a sucker for those Thermoses–I have a couple of them myself. Those greyhound glasses are crazy cute.

  3. Betsy says:

    Oooh, I just love all your treasures, especially those fabulous glasses. That McCoy mug is pretty cool too. Thanks for sharing your finds.

  4. shannon says:

    Lovely!!

    Shopping IS way more than listing. As is reading thrifting blogs. 🙂

  5. Claire says:

    The greyhound glasses are SPECIAL!! Lucky you.

  6. Ashlie says:

    I am coveting (sp?) the Stanley Thermos set. I found one at the antique store the other day ($7) and now I’m kicking myself for leaving it!

  7. mongs says:

    love the greyhound glasses …cute! And the bowl is lovely. Great finds. Thrift store shopping is always so fun and satisfying isn’t it? It’s even greater joy when we find people who shares the same joy. Thanks for the lovely comments at my blog!

    love from mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

  8. Love the bowl with the snowflake in the middle! So classy and sophisticated looking! Nice find!

  9. Pingback: Watermelon Thrift Crawl | Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

