The Joy of French Thrifting

The title is a clue to one of the pieces I thrifted this weekend.

Any of you Nancy Drew types figure out right away?

What?

You need Ned Nickerson’s help?

On a completely different note from thrifting, I simply cannot wait for pool weather so I can sit outside, drink sangrai and catch up with Nancy, Beth & George.

Linking up with Apron Thrift Girl for another fabulous Thrift Share Monday!

Another little milk glass vase. I really need to stop, but for 70 cents, this baby was worth sneaking into the  house past the watchful, rolling eyeballs of Mr. Right.

Lately the thrift has been pricing pyrex like it is Juicy Couture, but they must not have seen the mark on this one because I took it home for $2. It’s going on ebay because I like $$$ and I can’t make gravy anyways.

Wilton Comfort Grip cookie cutters. I got a bag of 8 for $3 but there were some duplicates. Keeping the duplicates and the others are headed for ebay. The stocking and tulip shaped cutters continue to elude. A retired Stocking can fetch $80-$90 near Christmas.

These make me smile. They are not marked, but I couldn’t care less. They are bright and happy and only set me back $1. Definitely using them at Easter!

Lovely Desert Rose Franciscanware. Someday I shall happen upon a complete set for a ridiculously low price. Until then I pick up the pieces whenever I see them, which admittedly has only been 2-3 times. These two plates were 25 cents each.

LOVE!

The Clue in the Descoware Casserole

Oooh Oooh Oooh.

I wish that this was like a voice blog or something and I would do a Super awful impersonation of Julia Child with my new little yellow descoware.

Except that she was, like 6 feet tall and probably paid more than $3.50 for her Descoware. She claimed Descoware far supereior to Le Crueset, which is a good thing because I have all but given up finding a piece of that in my thrifting quests.

I am keeping it and now that I have gotten over my crush on Le Crueset, I am contemplating buying some of this yummy vintage cookery on ebay. It is much cheaper than LC and I am keeping a watchful eye on the auctions and waiting to bid snipe some poor unsuspecting Julia Child type chef and carry off the Descoware prize.

It was a good thrifting weekend. I picked up some other goodies to sell on ebay, a vintage Alf doll (Why did that show ever go off the air? Love me some Alf!) and a Molly doll from The Big Comfy Couch show. I also snagged 10 brand new pair of Under Armour socks for $4.

No pictures of the socks, because that wouldn’t make for a very exciting photo. Unless it was the Wilton Cookie cutter sock.

Or Julia Child’s freakishly tall vintage pantyhose.

Not sure where I was going with that.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Joy of French Thrifting

  1. ana says:

    “ooh ooh ooh” lol.. hi janice, was that julia child in the house? 😛 you had me at “cru” over at atg… i had a feeling it would lead to some goodness. the casserole is gorgeous. thanks for sharing your finds!

  2. snath says:

    Hey, How much can you get for the Molly doll? I have one of those from Em 🙂

  3. adriann says:

    great finds. the dishes that were not marked are made by Blue Ridge Pottery. my in-laws had family that worked at the pottery located in erwin, tn. my mothere in law has a hugh collection, some even made just for her when she was a little girl. enjoy them. love your blog.

  4. Pingback: Blue Monday | Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

