Tea With the Queen

I am thinking that because I now know how tomake scones, I might score an invite to Kate & Williams wedding.

Ok-

Who the heck else is excited about that?

Me

Me

Me

I still remember watching Princess Di and Charles get married and how my BFF Sue and I would re-create the ceremony with Barbie dolls. Except that we did not have a long enough Barbie wedding veil so we used her moms handkerchiefs. I don’t think we had a stand in for Prince Charles, which is probably not a big deal since, well, you know, look how good that turned out.

Poor Princess Diana.

Let’s move on to the happier subject of my new found ability to make scones.

It turns out that scone making is marvelously easy.

I had some (super skeevy) buttermilk left over from a red velvet cake and I needed a way to use it up. Except when I checked the date on the buttermilk it was already past due, which makes the already gross consistency and appearance of buttermilk about a million times worse.

Really.

So I did the old substitution of 1 cup milk mixed with a tablespoon of white vinegar. It works so well I really don’t know why I buy buttermilk at all. It still gives me flashbacks to my Country Kitchen waitressing days and that gross little kid who would chug a glass of buttermilk like a Coors Lite and then he would have a clumpy milk mustache. I was always careful to keep my distance when he placed his order, lest I smell his buttermilk breath.

Ew.

Nightmares.

I super love blueberries, which is a very good thing because apparently they are all the new rage in super healthy anti oxidant-ness.

Screw the Acai berry.

Except don’t buy the dried blueberries from Costco because:

1. They look like rabbit turds….

and

2. They taste like rabbit turds.

Of course I forgot to add the blueberries prior to the dough mixing and so I had to throw them in at the end and then it was kind of a pain to try and work them in and all their skins kept falling off.

‘Our pet’s HEADS are falling off’

Name the movie.

Once I got all their skinless little bodies incorporated, the rest of the process went swimmingly. You just kind of pat it into a circle shape and slice it up like a pie.

Mmmmmm, pie.

Does anyone play Trivial Pursuit anymore?

Remember when that was like, THE game to play?

You really want to invest in some parchment paper for these.

Sprinkle the tops with white sugar.

Holler for Kate.

And William.

And Elizabeth.

But not Charles.

Charles is out of luck.

Unless Camilla can make scones…….

 

BUTTERMILK SCONES

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup butter, melted
1  cup buttermilk
1/3—1/2 cup honey ( start with 1/3 and you can add more if the dough feels too stiff)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Add butter, buttermilk and honey; stir until a soft dough is formed.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and press dough into a circle about 3/4 inch thick. Cut into 8 even sized pieces.

Place the scones on a parchment lined or lightly greased baking sheet and bake at 425 degrees F (220 degrees C) for 10 to 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

Call the queen.

 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tea With the Queen

  1. Mary Marvin says:

    Remember Kate’s mother was a Goldsmith so it’s a possibility that we’re in for the wedding. Start dress shopping now!

  2. Sue says:

    Ok…so many flashbacks in one blog!!!! ❤ U!!!! & I'm going with you!

  3. Jen says:

    Great recipe looks easy. You can also use 1 cup milk and 1 tsp lemon juice to make butter milk. Taste just like butter milk.

  4. AnneMarie says:

    DUMB AND DUMBER. FAV MOVIE EV’s

Leave a Reply

