Blue Monday

What do the Blue Ridge Mountains, the state of Ohio and the country of Denmark all have in common?

They are all starring in today’s edition of Thrift Share Monday!

Linking up with Apron Thrift Girl for the weekly treasure share.

Amazing that I can find a little piece of history from each of those random places, tucked away in a thrift store on the outskirts of Vegas.

Another sweet milk glass vase for 70 cents. This little pretty hails from the Brody Glass company in Cleveland Ohio. Seems that Mr. Brody had the idea to market vases and glassware exclusively to florists for use in their arrangements. He wisely followed his dream and established the Brody Glass Co., unlike me and the Kate Gosselin wig which I thought of MONTHS before it was introduced.

Anyways, I sadly had to leave two little vases at the store because I am starting to run out of storage space, and they were patterns I already had. Hopefully someone else will find and enjoy them.

I thought these were interesting for $2. Vintage paper place mats from Denmark. They are still sealed in their original package.

Must have been for sale in the gift shop at the National Museum. These are going in my ebay store. Maybe there is some Danish heritage holiday coming up and someone will snag them.

Thanks to a nice lady who commented on the unmarked plates from last week, and informed me they are pieces of Blue Ridge Pottery. I went to the pottery website and the patterns are amazing!

This particular one is Mountain Glory, I think. There are literally dozens and dozens of floral patterns and some are pretty similar. Each piece is hand painted.

It makes me want to be all John Denver and go live in the Blue Ridge Mountains, wherever they are.

Just Kidding.

I know where they are.

Kind of.

By the Waltons, right?

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue Monday

  1. Pam Schultz says:

    Janice, the Blue Ridge Mountains ARE beautiful, especially in the fall. There are still mountain folk that live in them and you would have trouble understanding them.

Leave a Reply

