Watermelon Thrift Crawl

Happy Day After Easter! Celebrating an Easter thrift share with Apron Thrift Girl!

Had a great thrift day last week! My sister took the kids for a couple days, so I had lots of time to dig. I am still sticking to the same thrift every week, mostly because I am too lazy to drive very far, but also because there is only so much time in the day ya know?

Plus the weather is gorgeous, so I have been trying to get outside a bunch before it is 92 million degrees. I also have to list a lot of treasure on ebay and take care of my kids and then there is work, laundry, dog, Mr. Right.

You know how it goes.

Luckily my little thrift never runs out of treasure, so I can continue my weekly digs not too far from my house. Found this little Fiestaware butter dish in my favorite color. It is the new reproduction Fiestaware, but I love it just the same. I paid $2. The Dillards price tag of $29 was still on the back.

Otagiri coffee mugs for 49 cents each. These are headed to ebay.

Speaking of ebay…..

I just sold those Greyhound racing glasses from a few weeks ago. When researching them, I discovered they were Boscul Peanut Butter glasses in the Racing Greyhound series. Apparently they used to hold peanut butter and the company did different collectible designs, much like Welch’s jelly did back in the 70’s. The glasses were from the 60’s. Sold them for $75.

Picked this up for $1.50. It just screamed my sister’s name. I put it in her Easter basket. The frame is some kind of odd plastic like material. Dated 1973 and Made in the U.S.A.

Norpro Cookie/Candy molds. Paid $4 each, which I thought was a little steep, but they were brand new and usually retail for $25. Can’t decide if I want to keep them and try making something with the kids or stick them on ebay.

Depression Glass at the thrift! 70 cents apiece for these little beauties. From some research it looks like they are made by Tiffin. Looks like they only hold an ounce, which I was like ‘Whoa, way too small of a wineglass’, then figured they must be meant for cordials or Sherry or something. They are called Watermelon Glass because of the green bottoms.

Watermelon Glass is pretty hard to find and when you do find it, it tends to be stemware. Maybe because people used stemware less often and so it stayed tucked away? (Of course, not the case at my house)

They are mostly all in perfect condition except one has a tiny rim chip.

I absolutely love them, but I know I will never use them, so up on ebay they go. Hoping to get $50 for the set. Will update you.

I hope that you all had a beautiful Easter. Ours was amazing and crazy and fun!

I will try to share some pictures this week. Not so great pictures because it is like wrestling a greased pig trying to take pictures of kids during an egg hunt!

Happy Thrifting!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watermelon Thrift Crawl

  1. I’ve never seen Watermelon glass before. These are really different! I’ll have to keep my eyes open for them in the future.
    Nice buy on that butter dish, too!
    Tammy

  2. Catherine says:

    I love those Otagiri mugs with those adorable little butterflies!

Leave a Reply

