Turning on a Dime

Did you ever wonder about that phrase? Why a dime? Why not a penny or a quarter or a buffalo nickel?

I googled it and discovered it is because a dime is the smallest coin, therefor making the tightest turning radius.

When referring to life and not cars it means that life can change course very quickly. Depending on the circumstances, it can be either good or bad, but either way it will be rapid.

We had a lovely day last Saturday.The whole family went to this awesome place called the Springs Preserve. They were hosting an all you can eat ice cream festival that day…

HOLLA

Ice cream cones, root beer floats, ice cream sundaes, games, prizes, oh and a very wise & shrewd dentist handing out toothbrushes and business cards.

So much fun!

We saw lizards, spiders and snakes! We stood on a platform and participated in a ‘flash flood’. We played games and won a bunch of little craptastic plastic prizes.

Gabby got picked to be a volunteer and got to hold a baby porcupine, which by the way they do NOT shoot their quills at you.

Common porcupine myth.

They actually back up into you.

Then you’re screwed.

It was a beautiful day even though there were 17,456 other people there for the free ice cream.

Carly took FOREVAH to finish that ice cream cone. She was also the black sheep of the family, picking strawberry over chocolate.

Here is the next picture on my camera roll…………….

The Dime.

You can see the remains of Carly’s ice cream cone in the little bag right on the ground underneath the door. I had just taken it from her and stuck it in a baggie when a little gold saturn pit maneuvered us at about 65 miles an hour.

We went into a spin across the freeway and I remember thinking, ‘Wow, there are no cars in front of us, we are going to just spin out’.

And then I saw the guard rail.

So weird, I didn’t even scream, just thought ‘Ok, this is it, we are going over it, but at least we are all together’. I remember Mr. Right yelling for everybody to hang on and then a horrific ‘bump’ as the kids called it. The airbag must have knocked me out for a second, I don’t remember it hitting me at all.

I remember being absolutely amazed that the guardrail held and I could hear all 3 kids screaming, so I knew they  were alive too. The force of the impact pushed the engine back about two feet so my knees were bent up and my door wouldn’t open. I remember saying “Get the Kids’.

By the time I pushed my door open, 6-7 good samaritans had stopped and were rendering aid. It’s kind of a blur, but I remember a nice lady unbuckling Carly. I remember Spike screaming about his lego’s (He had been holding his brand new lego truck which was, of course in a billion pieces) I remember Gabby just screaming.

It’s been a week and we are all doing pretty good. My chest is still sore and I have a pretty stiff neck. The kids have ugly seat belt burns on their necks and Mr. Right’s arms are pretty bruised. I’ll be danged if Mr. Right & my boss (who made it to the scene in about 8  minutes) didn’t pick through that wreck and find every piece to Max’s lego truck except one. It is probably still in the middle of the 95 somewhere.

Thankful to all our friends and family for their prayers and help this past week.

It could have been much worse.

You never know where the dime will show up.

So seize your day!

(And wear your seat belts)

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Turning on a Dime

  1. monogirl says:

    Glad to hear you are OK. Also good to see the front end of your Toyota took the brunt of the hit. Feel better!

  2. Snath says:

    Still brings tears to my eyes. I can’t stand the thought of the one person in the world that I know I can always count on not being here…..went through that once….that was my dime. A Friday night, my parents have the kids, Darryl went to work, not feeling the best, I’m rushing home from work getting ready for a Mary Kay party, get in the van to drive there….listen to the cell phone messages…..my dime….Love you!!!!

  3. Snath says:

    Oh & did you say camera roll???? How old ARE you 🙂 hehehehe

  4. Del Owen says:

    So sorry to hear about the accident, but SO glad to hear that you are all okay, which is the most important thing! My hubby was in a motorcycle accident last weekend and is getting out of the hospital today…10 broken ribs, dislocated shoulder (oh, it’s back in position), and broken bone in his right hand. Yep, things changed pretty quickly.
    Gentle Hugs to you & your family for healing.
    PS – How cool that Gabby got to hold a baby porcupine! Awesome!

  5. Kristin says:

    OMG, I am so glad y’all are ok. That must have been terrifying.

  6. Pingback: White Thrift Share | Feels Like Time

  7. Sandy says:

    So glad you guys are all ok. That must have been scary. Thank God you all had your seat belts on. What happened to the guy in the Saturn? Did he even stop?
    Sandy

  8. Susan says:

    Tell Spike Carson and Cooper have every lego ever made (or at least pretty darn close!) she can come to our house and see if he can replace his piece!

    I am so glad you are all oksy, banged and bruised, but those will heal!

Leave a Reply

