Blueberries are My Favorite

Oh.

I love blueberries!

LOVE LOVE LOVE them!

Love.

Them.

Ok, so there are also apples in this recipe, but while I love a good apple, blueberries are by far my favorite fruit.

They make me happy. Little blue spheres of delightfulness. (wanted to use ‘balls’ in place of the word ‘spheres’ but this is a G rated blog).

At any rate, they make me as happy as the color yellow does. I remember going wild blueberry picking with my mom and Auntie Hell Hell (don’t ask) when I was little. We would drive out to the middle of nowhere, someplace they called the Barrens, and pick all day or until Auntie Hell Hell yelled ‘BEAR’ and then we’d haul you-know-what back to the car and go home.

So a few weeks ago Albertsons had the little 6oz packages for 99 cents! I am not even kidding you that I spent $27 on blueberries in 10 days. We gorged ourselves! The kids would eat them straight out of the little box, on cereal, in fruit salad, etc.

Blueberry pie is my most favorite pie. When I was little I would have it for my birthday instead of cake (sans candles). Of course Mr. Right does not like blueberry pie so I decided to make a crisp instead. Plus my chest still hurts from the accident so I didn’t think I had the stamina for rolling out dough.

And I’m lazy.

This little bit of heaven is actually a combination cobbler/crisp. If a cobbler batter and a crisp topping got married, this would be their little offspring.

Look how happy they are blanketed by brown sugar and flour! I also laced them with cinnamon.

I also find that glass dishes work better for cobblers and crisps. Make sure you load it up with fruit. Don’t skimp out. If you think it needs more than the recipe calls for, go ahead and throw in another apple or more berries.

Then when you are in your post dessert coma and lamenting the number of calories you consumed you can be all like “EUREKA, it wasn’t that bad…it was mostly fruit”.

Or something like that.

You really need to eat this warm.

Make sure you send your Mr. Right to the store for ice cream no matter if he protests or not. His annoyance will add to the taste, I promise.

Remember the ‘mouse corner’?

Turned into a ‘mouse row’.

Mouse’s pants were tight that night……

At least I didn’t have to worry about any bears!

CRISPY APPLE BLUEBERRY COBBLER

  • 4 cups sliced peeled tart apples
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, divided
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (or to your taste-I like a strong cinnamon flavor so I mixed some with the fruit as well)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted

Place apples in a greased 11-in. x 7-in. x 2-in. baking dish. Top with blueberries. Mix brown sugar and 2 tablespoons flour; sprinkle over fruit. Combine sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and remaining flour. Stir in egg with a fork until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle over fruit; drizzle with butter. Bake at 350 degrees F for 55-60 minutes or until apples are tender. Serve warm.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

