Fast Fathers Day Recipe

Happy Fathers Day to all you Dad type blog readers!

This is a non grilling recipe since I know you don’t want to have to do anything today because, well, it’s your day you know?

I mean, even though you probably didn’t do anything yesterday or the day before, today is still YOUR day.

Kidding!

Kidding Kidding Kidding.

Kind of.

But not really.

So, in honor of Fathers Day, here is a no grill recipe for delightful little dad pleasing sliders.

At my house, Mr. Right is the griller. I do not grill anything.

Ever.

Because once you learn how to grill ladies, you will have to do that too.

So really, step away from the grill.

Onion soup mix is one of the most versatile ingredients ever. You can probably add it to anything and it will make whatever it is taste better.

Don’t waste your money on the name brand lipton mix. Store brand works just fine.

This is basically the recipe.

Beef, soup mix,  sour cream, cheese, buns. (The recipe calls for mayonnaise, but I sub sour cream because mayo is just gross)

What man does not LOVE that combination?

Cover a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and spray with Pam (or the generic stuff).

Spoon some delightfulness onto each little bun and then give them their top back.

Once they have their tops on, cover in foil and bake for 25 minutes.

I used potato rolls which are my absolute favorite and I can only eat about 4 per year or I will be wearing elastic waist pants before my time.

I did a 7.5 mile hike the day I made these and burned just enough calories for two potato rolls.

Some friends we saw along the way!

Look hard, they’re there!

Don’t forget the pickles!

Happy Fathers Day!

NO GRILL SLIDERS

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 (1.25 ounce) envelope onion soup mix
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 24 dinner rolls, split
  • 1/2 cup sliced pickles (optional)

Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Cover a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray.

Mix together the ground beef and onion soup mix in a large skillet; cook and stir over medium-high heat until the beef is crumbly, evenly browned, and no longer pink. Drain and discard any excess grease. Remove from heat. Stir the mayonnaise and Cheddar cheese into the ground beef mixture.

Lay the bottoms of the dinner rolls on the prepared baking sheet. Spread the cheese and beef mixture on the bottom half of each roll. Replace the tops. Cover with another sheet of aluminum foil sprayed with cooking spray.

Bake in the preheated oven until the burgers are heated through and cheese melts, about 25 minutes. Serve with sliced pickles.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

