Back in the Desert

Back from my yearly sabbatical to Northern Wisconsin, one of the best places on earth!

Left Vegas on June 20th and spent the first 3 days freezing to death in 50 degree wether. My kids were seriously begging for mittens.

Fast forward to the last week there and we got caught in the Heat Wave from Hell.

Literally.

Hell.

Guess what desert peeps? It really IS a dry heat here.

It was like 100 degrees and 400% humidity. I would step outside and my glasses would steam up and I would have to stand still (and sweat like a pig doing that) for a minute or two until I could see.

We had lots of fun and spent a lot of time at Lake Superior. In fact, this is a Lake Superior edition post.

Holy Big Lakes!

It is impossible to describe Lake Superior. Really. Just click the link and check it out. You can see the tiny part of the lake we were on, Chequamegon Bay.

Yes. That is spelled correctly.

Chequamegon.

Try to pronounce it.

Spent a lot of time in the lake this year. This is Bayview Beach between Washburn and Bayfield. Our favorite spot by far. It is a sandbar and the kids could walk out for, like a mile and still be able to touch bottom. There was also an eagle’s nest on the shore with 3 babies. We saw the whole family on several occasions.Of course those occasions never arose when my camera was handy.

Eagles are awesome.

Another favorite spot, Little Girl’s Point in Northern Michigan.

It is a rock picking/throwing paradise.

Seriously.

Rocks as far as you can see.

Who do you think loved it?

Beautiful in the summer.

Seriously cold in the winter.

Another beach. This is one in Washburn. Great spot except for the goose poop.

The black stuff is some weird kind of taconite substance. It is on the shore of lots of the town beaches. Probably from the ore boat hey days.

Speaking of ore…..

Oh how I love the Oredock.

Long live the Ashland Oredockers!!!

Ok, A couple more sunset shots for you and I have to call it a morning. It is Gabby’s birthday and I have to go wrap the SUPER hard to find, paid an arm and leg on ebay, Barbie McDonald’s set.

Not to mention plan for the hamster joining the family this afternoon…….

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

