More Wisconsin

This year was a pretty chill trip. Spent a lot of days at the beach (after it warmed up of course, because it was, like 52 the first 3 days) and a lot of time hanging out with family.

Gabby had her first ever sleep away camp experience and she loved it. She went to Camp Manitou near Eau Claire, Wisconsin. Here she is in front of her cabin, the Emily Anne (which I morbidly convinced myself was named after some former camper that had passed on and might haunt it).

I dropped her off on a Sunday night and pushed all knowledge of Camp Crystal Lake and Jason Voorhees from my mind when I drove away.

Is it Jason Voorhees or Jason Myers? Am I confusing him with Michael Voorhees?

WTH?

Are they related?

Well, despite Jason and Michael, she had a fabulous time and cried half the way home after I picked her up.

No trip to Wisconsin is complete without the Ashland 4th of July Parade!

The highlight of the parade for Carly was Smokey the Bear. Of course she was sitting on my moms lap when he came by and didn’t get to hug him so I had to pick her up and hoof it down the block.

Holy Smokes he moves fast…

HAHAHAHAHAHA (get it?)

On the 5th of July I almost hit a deer.

You guys!

This deer ran right in front of the car, out of nowhere I swear. When I say almost I mean it was so close I could see the whites of his eyeballs and the pucker of his butthole and I am not even kidding. I swear I saw the ticks on his hide.

I was simultaneously thinking ‘Oh no, Mom’s car’! ‘Crap Crap Crap, another airbag hit’ and RUN Forest RUUUUUUUUN!’.

Slammed on the brakes and skidded all over but missed him by a hair.

A literal hair I tell you.

Took a trip to Bayfield with Mr. Right and stayed in a little guest room type of place. It was old and probably haunted and had super steep slippery stairs which I consequently fell down.  Kind of like a Bed & Breakfast but without the breakfast.

Which is totally ok with me because I really don’t enjoy the whole breakfast with strangers thing. We stayed in a B&B several years ago when Gabby was about 1 and I remember eating breakfast and this lady was asking about us and we told her about our baby and she said ‘My kid days are over and I am so glad’, and I was all in my newer mom with one child phase and I was kind of horrified by her.

Now I am an old hag with 3 kids and I would like to seek her out and drink wine with her.

Took the ferry from Bayfield to Madeline Island to have an early dinner. Walked about a mile to the Pub/Wine bar and Mr. Right was horrified, horrified I tell you, when he found out that dinner service did not start for another hour and a half. Of course there was NO WAY he was walking the mile back to the other restaurant that was serving dinner.

No Way

It was comical really and he finally caved after about half an hour and just ordered a pizza off the bar menu.

He made up for it by ordering two breakfasts the next morning since he didn’t get what he wanted at dinner.

Everyone should have a Mr. Right…….

Here are some pictures from that adventure.

Some cool war ship thing that was docked in Bayfield.

Here we are in Morty’s Pub. We have stopped every year and had our picture taken there since we got married.

Leaving Bayfield on the ferry to Madeline Island.

View from the patio of the restaurant that doesn’t serve dinner until the ridiculous hour of 5:30pm.

Haunted guest house with the slippery stairs.

Another place we always go to, Gruenke’s Inn, best place for breakfast. Ask Mr. Right because he ate two.

Hope you are all enjoying your summer. Trying to get some new recipes up, but busy getting ready for another trip to Idaho in a few weeks and also taking care of our new family member…..

This is Jovi.

Don’t Ask.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Wisconsin

  1. Jennifer says:

    “We have stopped every year and had our picture taken there since we got married.”

    So sweet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

