For the Love of Chickpeas

This delicously healthy recipe comes to you courtesy of my cousin Matt’s wife Julie.

So I guess that makes her a Cousin In Law, except that term ‘in law’ seems so cold and dead and devoid of the love I feel for Julie and her fabulous recipe.

I super love my cousin Matt, even though he is a Vikings fan…….

Of course his marrying the lovely Julie almost makes up for it.

Almost.

At any rate, we had a Goldsmith Girl cousin reunion this summer at my cousin Anne’s  cabin in beautiful Barnes, Wisconsin. It was me, sister Cindy, sister Kathy (sister Sherry had to work) cousin Anne, cousin Mary and cousin Julie.

By sister, I mean actual sister, not nuns or anything.

So we sat at the lake drinking sangria and talking about our dads and Julie whips out this fabulous salad type dip thing and OMG I gorged on it.

You can’t help but feel super healthy and mediterranean diet chic when you are eating this.

It’s unbelievably easy to make and doesn’t take much time or use a bunch of weirdo ingredients like saffron or bergamot or something equally exotic and hard to find at Kroger.

Just tomatoes, vidalia onion, basil and chickpeas. A little salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar and olive oil and you’re ready to go.

Except of course my store did not have vidalia onions so I ended up just getting a sweet onion, which I believe are the same thing. It was a total monster size onion too. Bigger than any of my kids’ head when they were born. I only used about 1/3 of it and if I had it to do over, I would probably use a little less. I am not a giant fan of raw onion.

You essentially have to make this in two parts.

Tomato, onion, basil, salt and pepper go in the bowl first.

Then the chickpea mixture is layered on top.

You chill everything in the refrigerator and toss it all together just before serving.

You guys, this is amazing stuff.

You can eat as a dip on crackers, tortilla chips, bruschetta bread or whatever floats your boat.

I topped a bunch of salad greens with it and ate it for dinner last night.

And my pants were not tight today.

Julie’s Chickpea Delight

You’re making two halves of the salad-

the first half is:
3 diced tomatoes
1 diced Vidalia onion
1 tbsp basil (I used about 7 fresh leaves)
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp pepper

the second half is:
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp pepper
add 1 can garbanzo/chickpea beans

In a mixing bowl, put the tomato mixture on the bottom and the chickpea mixture on top – refrigerate – don’t toss until serving time. A LOT yummier the second day!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For the Love of Chickpeas

  1. Del says:

    I just made this chickpea salad recipe, and now it’s chilling in the fridge. I also posted it on my FB page, and linked it back to your blog. Love reading about your adventures and all the tips & tricks you post. Thanks!
    Del
    ;o)

Leave a Reply

