Brown Sugar Babies

Oh My Tight Pants.

These are good.

Delightfully good.

Made them for the kids first day of school treat.

WAIT!

Let’s just take a minute and sing the praises of back to school…..

For the first time in more than nine years, I have two entirely kid free days each week. I am off on Mondays and Fridays and the kids are gone.

GONE, did you hear me?

G.O.N.E.

Gabby headed off to 4th grade and Max to 1st with Carly bringing up the rear into preschool.

I admit I shed a tear when the bus pulled away. I was even a little teary on the drive to drop Carly off, but once I got home, MAN, you know?

I steamed the floors, cleaned the windows, turned on the tv and hey, GUESS WHAT?

There are actual shows on during the day, with, like adult-non-animated type people in them!

Who Knew?

I also made these sugar laden little yummies in only half the time it usually takes me to finish a recipe. It was unbelievably funeral home quiet in my house.

Even the dogs were quiet.

Quiet makes for peaceful baking. I had a meeting at work last night or I probably would have been drinking champagne while following my recipe in complete and total blissful peace.

So, to make yourself feel better, you could use whole wheat flour in place of the white. Whole wheat flour works great in cookies and breads, however, BIG FAT PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT, do NOT, ever ever ever use it for pie crust.

Ever.

I did that this past weekend with super sad apple pie results.

Finally met an apple pie I didn’t like.

So these little babies are basically a cookie crust on the bottom, then a s’more like layer and then a brown sugar meringue on top.

I think the next time I make these (and there WILL be a next time) I will bake the cookie layer for about 10 minutes, let it cool and then add the chips and marshmallows because these were a little too gooey even for my taste. Plus the recipe only called for 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and I was like NO WAY, I am using a full cup, so that could have added to the slightly underbaked crust.

I did not omit the nuts this time, because you know what? I LIKE nuts. And since my eagle eye spy kids were not there to protest the addition of said nuts, I went a little crazy.

When they were eating them and asked if they were nuts, I just flat out lied and said no.

Well, then miracle of miracles, no one gasped or choked or rolled around on the ground in protest or died.

Nuts are good.

Hope you have a lovely week. I have another free day coming in about 72 hours, so expect another belt loosening recipe!

 

BROWN SUGAR BABIES

1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs, divided (1 egg, 2 yolks, and 2 egg whites)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup mini marshmallows
1 cup chopped nuts
1 cup light brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×13 pan and set aside.

Beat together butter and granulated sugar until creamy. Beat in 1 whole egg and 2 egg yolks (put aside the whites for later.) Beat in the vanilla extract.

In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Blend until just combined. Spread mixture into 9×13″ pan. Sprinkle with marshmallows, chocolate chips, and nuts-if using.

Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gently fold in the brown sugar. Spread mixture evenly over marshmallows and chocolate chips. Bake for about 30-40 minutes or until bars are a deep golden brown. Let bars cool completely. Cut into squares and serve.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brown Sugar Babies

  1. Sandy Tetzlaff says:

    These look super delicious. I’m going to try this recipe this weekend but with gluten free flour. Hope it works!

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

