As Promised…..EBELSKIVER

Hmmmm

What in the world is ebelskiver, you might ask?

Well, let me just tell you they are delightful little Danish filled pancake type treats.

Or maybe Dutch.

Make the filling first.

Wait–are those the same thing?

Have no idea myself, as I am German Swiss English with a touch of Irish.

So that makes me love Sausages, Chocolate, Scones and potatoes.

Not necessarily in that order, of course.

At any rate, I think that maybe there was some Danish rendezvous-ing with one of my ancestors, because I love these. They are out of this world good.

Use lots of cinnamon...trust me!

And out of this world hard to make.

Like, super complicated recipe. Made me sweat. Took an hour and a half to make and sorely tested my patience because the kids were screaming from hunger like half starved dingoes and I truly wanted to just say screw it and throw a couple of pop tarts in the toaster.

Next make the icing and set it aside.

But I persevered, and OH the reward.

So, you need a special pan for these little scrumptious morsels. Also you need every mixing bowl in your house and also a couple of your neighbors bowls and some wooden bbq skewers or chopsticks.

Fancy Williams Sonoma pan, found at Savers for $4, retails for $40.

Egg separating. Will use non shiny bowl next time....check out my reflection.

Step 412-- Make the actual batter.

Seriously! A lot of work to arrive here.

I know, right?!?

Oh, but it’s only just begun! Now you need to set up a little station with the batter, the filling and the melted butter. You also need the skewers and/or chopsticks to flip them.

NOW you can start to make the little buggers. The recipe made about 7 pans full. I kept the big bowl in the oven on the lowest setting and popped them right from the pan into the oven to stay warm. By the third batch I really got the hang of them.

Teensy bit of butter goes into the HOT pan.

Add a tablespoon of batter

A pinch of filling

Top with more batter.

Tom Petty was wrong. The FLIPPING is actually the hardest part.

Oh. You are not done yet.

Warm up that icing that has been setting aside and drizzle over the little mites.

Shake some cinnamon on the top and enjoy.

Ok-I have to bust out the recipe for you  because;

1.) The keys are sticking on this stupid laptop and making me crazy.

and

2.) The half starved dingoes are clamoring for popcorn while we watch ELF.

Yep.

Elf.

On September 2nd.

Whole lotta holiday freaks here.

You really need to make these on a weekend when you have alot of time to spare. They are like little baby donut pancakes with filling in the middle! These happen to be cinnamon bun flavor, but you could also fill them with jelly or applesauce or peanut butter.

OH

I love peanut butter on my pancakes!

A little trick I learned wayyyyyy back in the day when I was slinging hash at the Country Kitchen dressed like a milk maid and waiting on the drunkity drunks that would pour through the door at 2 am for the big all you can eat breakfast buffet featuring powdered eggs and cold sausage links.

Not an ebelskiver to be seen.

Decided it was just easier to link to the Williams Sonoma recipe.

Cinnamon Bun Ebilskever

Good Luck!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to As Promised…..EBELSKIVER

  1. jackie says:

    you found a pan and made them! woohoo! I love eating them, but they are a pain to make! I cheat and use pancake mix 🙂

  2. Julie Jackson says:

    I’ve made these several times and they are always worth the pain and aggravation! Thanks for the new recipe from WS!

  3. Kristin says:

    They look delicious. I just went looking on eBay for a pan.

Leave a Reply

