3 Down 1 to Go!

Oh!

How I have missed Thrift Share Mondays! I had taken a long break from thrifting (okay- only a month, but seemed like forevah!) because I had sooo much ebay stuff to list and so many other things going on, but I broke the non thrift streak this week.

Well I am back and linking up with Apron Thrift Girl for the Monday partay.

So happy I did not buy the pyrex primary bowl set I saw in the antique store this past week! I have slowly been collecting the colored beauties and I had the yellow and the red. I found them both at Savers over the last 18 months or so and was pretty skeptical about finding more.

Thursday Mr. Right and I celebrated 10 years married! WoooHooo! A dear friend kept the kids overnight and we had a room at Green Valley Ranch resort. We hit some restaurants, a bar Ben & Jerry’s and an antique mall. In the antique store I saw 4, FOUR different sets of the primary colors mixing bowls from Pyrex. None of the sets were priced under $50, which isn’t too bad of a price but I guess it is really the thrill of the hunt for me because I passed on them even though they make my heat beat a little faster.

I also saw a bunch of vintage board games that I would love to have gotten and challenged the heck out of everyone to beat me at Little House on the Prairie, Bionic Woman or The Waltons. I left those on the shelf too.

Still a touch of regret about that.

So I head to Savers on Friday and there is the lovely lady unloading the cart of new things and on the top is my little beauty green bowl! I almost fell down right there in the Savers aisle!

Then when I made my last sweep through the housewares, I see ANOTHER of the green bowls on the shelf!

WHAT!?!?!?

Two in one day?

Sadly that one had a chip.

And although I scoured the store like an S.O.S. pad on crack, I did not find the small blue bowl to complete the set.

I DID find this handled pyrex green bowl, which is identical to one my mom has had forever and it makes me happy.

I paid $8 for both my bowls.

They were having a shoe sale that day for card members too. Half off all shoes. Nothing much I like better than half off stuff.

Picked up these Doc Martens for $5. They are headed for ebay today.

Keeping these Danskos as they are just my size!

Also picked up a couple cashmere sweaters from Hugo Boss and Ann Taylor. Keeping those as well.

Hope you all have a fabulous week.

I am seriously thinking of going out today and hunting for the blue bowl!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 3 Down 1 to Go!

  1. fantastic! I have the primary set, and it is extra special because it was given to me by a very dear friend!

    smiles,
    The Joyful Thrifter

  2. Love your vintage pyrex. Hope you find the little blue bowl to complete your set.

    Danielle

  3. I have two of the primary color bowls and am determined to find the rest as well. It’s funny though I was initially looking for them for re-sale but now I really find myself liking the bowls and using them. I have a few that are a bit on the well used side as well. I’m thinking of investigating a paint I can use on them to create my own “set”. I was thinking of some great design possibilities. If anyone has a suggestion on a paint to use I’m all ears ( or eyes in this case).

  4. I love vintage Pyrex. You did really well!

Leave a Reply

