These Will Melt in Your Mouth…..

And stick to your butt.

Oh my! These are so delightful. It is 6am, still dark outside and I am giving it my all not to hop off the couch and eat one right now.

What harm could one more do after the double digit number I ate yesterday?

So yesterday was apparently the first day of fall, which I have FOREVAH thought that the 21st was the first day of fall, but then Fox 5 weather man says it was yesterday. So I throw out on facebook isn’t it the 21st and half the people think so and the other half say no it is the 23rd. I looked up the almanac and it was pretty confusing with equinox and moon tide, sun shifting mumbo jumbo, so I am going to stick to my conviction that it is the 21st, but shall also celebrate it on the 23rd!

A bonus holiday!

Ok. So I wanted to bake (it being the first fake day of fall and all) and this recipe has been haunting me since I saw a picture of these on a website. You see, I adore cookies. Mostly any kind of cookie will do. In fact I am thinking next year of doing one new cookie recipe each week for the blog. What do you think?

Back to my cookie love (OH-except for Oatmeal raisin or any cookie involving raisins. No raisin love) If there is one thing better than a cookie, it is a FROSTED cookie. These have a brown sugar icing! It reminds me of the brown sugar bordeaux candies from See’s. If you have never had a See’s candy, you should log on right now and order a one pound box.

Seriously, GO!

So I drag out all my baking paraphernalia and it kinda makes me laugh because I am back on weight watchers (except for the eleventy thousand cookies yesterday) and I have to measure my wine so my measuring cup is all stained purple.

This is a tupperware measuring cup and they are my absolute favorites except Mr. Right lost the 1 Cup and it is nowhere to be found and of course he denies it, but I know it was him because who else could it be?

Plus he (guiltily) bought me a new set for Mothers Day and I am sure he thinks they are all cool because they expand and contract, but I do not love them.

At all.

I so do not love them in fact, that I will just use my 1/2 cup and double up the scoops to equal full cups when baking.

Ok.

Done with weird measuring cup segue.

These cookies definitely smell like fall!

I tripled the batch and gave a bunch away.

I am kinda wishing I had kept them now.

It starts out like any basic sugar cookie recipe except subbing brown sugar for white.

You probably have all the ingredients on hand. Brown sugar, butter, eggs, flour (I did half white & half whole wheat for healthiness purposes) sour cream, baking soda and powdered sugar. You actually don’t need the vanilla. I just anticipated vanilla use in this recipe and after I discovered there was no use for it, the picture was already taken.

Cream the butter and brown sugar.

Add the eggs and the sour cream.

Sneak a little taste of the creamy, grainy, sugary-ness even thoughit contains raw eggs and could potentially, in an alternate universe, cause salmonella.

Mix in your flour. The recipe doesn’t call for it, but I threw in a liberal amount of brown sugar and nutmeg.

I do not know, nor have I ever heard of a single person who contracted salmonella through cookie dough eating.

I do however, remember when there was a big lettuce recall due to ecoli or something, thus proving that it is better to eat raw cookie dough than salad.

Or something like that.

You will probably want to use parchment paper for these because they are kind of delicate.

Let them cool about 10-15 minutes.

NOW……

Brown sugar, melted butter, powdered sugar and milk.

MAGIC

OH!

I can hardly stand this.

One.

Two.

Three!

You know I ate this first one.

Then the 4th or 5th one broke while I was dipping it, so I ate that one too.

And probably the 12th or 13th one. I can’t remember the order any more. I just know that there were a lot. I kinda lost track. I am seriously dying for one right now.

Dying.

Ok.

Here is the recipe. It’s Saturday, you probably don’t have anything better to do, so you should make these.

Now.

Remember, I tripled the batch which I don’t advise unless you have lots of friends or a really great selection of maternity pants on hand.

BROWN SUGAR COOKIES

  • 1/2 cup butter (no substitutes), softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • BROWN SUGAR FROSTING:
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar

In a small mixing bowl, cream butter and brown sugar. Beat in egg and sour cream; mix well. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.

Drop by tablespoonfuls 2 in. apart onto greased baking sheets. Bake at 375 degrees F for 11-15 minutes or until golden brown. Remove to wire racks to cool.

For frosting, mix brown & powdered sugar together. Melt butter in microwave and add to sugar mixture. Add milk and mix to spreadable/dippable consistency. You can add more milk to thin it out or more powdered sugar to thicken up.

Dip cookies and eat!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to These Will Melt in Your Mouth…..

  1. Pingback: Pyrex & Starbucks | Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

