ALOOOOOOHA

WooooHOoooo!

It’s Thrift Share Monday and I am linking up with Apron Thrift Girl for a treasure sharing time!

The theme this past weekend was Hawaii. My personal feeling is that some very old Hawaiian person passed away, probably a cute little old man because in addition to my glass goodies, I found several vintage Hawaiian shirts as well. They will head to ebay. I paid $4-5 each and will sell them for $30-$40. My personal favorite was a pink flamingo number. I sooo wanted Mr. Right to wear it and drink mai tais out of one of these fabulous glasses but he was not as enthusiastic about my Hawaiian bounty as he should be.

Something about glass hoarding and hating vintage glasses and they are everywhere in the house and if I live to be 100 I won’t be able to drink out of them all.

While, I did not have the ingredients on hand for mai tais (shocker-I know) I did pull these out last night and fill them with red wine and rum & cokes for the Packer game.

And I have to admit I’d take a Packer jersey over a Hawaiian shirt any day of the week!

BIG shameless Green Bay Brag….

5-0 baby!

5-0

Ok.

Sorry.

The glasses are marked siesta ware. They are Tom Collins glasses, but I have no idea what goes in a Tom Collins and I think that they should be filled with an islandy, coconutty, pineappley concoction.

They were priced  little on the high side at $1.50 each but love conquers all and I DO love these. The teak wrapping on some of them is splitting, probably from age. I think they date from 50’s-60’s and they conjure up all sorts of images of cool vintage luau-going people.

LOVE

These were only 79 cents each. I can’t find a mark anywhere. They are going to ebay as I don’t love the whole Brady Bunch curse of Kamehameha looking guy on the front.

Not sure what I will price them at, but vintage tiki stuff does pretty well so I am sure it will be a nice profit.

Do you love this vintage linen?

I can hardly wait to have some kind of luau theme party this spring.

Of course I can only invite 4 people because I only have 6 of my fabulous glasses.

Oh!

I could totally kick Mr. Right out since he doesn’t love them and invite someone fun instead!

Or I can find some more on ebay………

Maybe I could keep them at the neighbors house?

Have a fabulous week! Check back later because I have an amazing new cookie/bar recipe for you. It will literally pop the buttons right off your pants and make you fall in love with the elastic waistband.

GO PACK GO

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ALOOOOOOHA

  1. Jenifir says:

    According to my Dad’s ‘The Fine Art of Mixing Drinks’ a Tom Collins is made of 1 T. sugar syrup, juice of 1 med.-sized lemon and 3 to 4 ounces gin served in a Collins glass adding 4 large ice cubes, fill glass with charged wter, stir again and serve. This is from his 1958 edition of the the book.

  2. kaylen says:

    Good call on those little glasses – they are totally bad news, as evidenced by the Brady Bunch Goes To Hawaii special. 🙂

Leave a Reply

