Chubby Hubby Bars

**IMPORTANT UPDATE**

Ok.

So.

I wrote this last week, like 8 days ago and am just getting around to putting the pictures in and posting.

You guys, I am crazy busy!

Some of the info is outdated, cause now the Packers are 6-0. And the game I was going to is over and the ebay jerkwad guy never did send my tickets, so we found a local ticket broker and had a fabulous time.

I think you are caught up now.

Proceed….

Holy Fabulous Recipes!!!!

If I never eat another cookie again, I will die happy.

Not really, but you know what I mean….

I must apologize in advance for those of you with peanut allergies. My poor sweet friends, you should just skip this whole post.

OR

Substitute plain M&M’s for the mini Reese’s cups.

Genius.

Made these for the Packer game last week and they were a big hit. Good thing I sent the leftovers home with friends or my pants would be splitting right down the butt seam.

Speaking of the Packers (Did you know they are 5-0?!?!?!) I am heading out on a red eye tonight and arriving in Green Bay tomorrow for the game on Sunday. A red eye flight always sounds like a good idea until the day you actually have to leave. I am a little nervous because I ordered the tickets off of ebay and they are not here yet. Come On Fed Ex guy!

Anyways

Basic cookie dough.

Then you add some magical ingredients.

Ok, maybe not so magical, but very sugary and chewy and salty sweet!

Break up some pretzels. Don’t crush them, just break into pieces.

Add an 8 oz bag of mini peanut butter cups, the Barbie doll sized ones (as if Barbie could eat Reese’s Cups and still fit into her pants). If you have peanut allergies you could sub 1 1/2 cups plain M&Ms or if you are lucky enough to live by a Trader Joes, they have these little teeny tiny caramel cups that would also be amazing.

Spread the goodness in a greased 9 x 13. I recommend a metal pan for cookie type bars, glass does not seem to bake them correctly. Bake for about 25-30 minutes. Err on the longer time so the middle gets done.

Ok, No pictures of the next steps because friends were arriving for the game and I was hurrying.

So just picture in your mind.

If you haven’t lost it like me.

Make sure the cookies are completely cooled. This involves patience and waiting and you know what Tom Petty says. However, if you are a normal person, you will have consumed a couple of spoonfuls of the dough to tide you over.

Unwrap a bag of kraft caramels and melt them in the microwave with a tablespoon of water. I usually melt for a minute, stir, repeat until the caramel is pourable. Pour over the cooled cookie bars and smear it around so the surface is covered.  Stick them in the fridge for about 15 minutes and let the caramel set, unless you are absorbed in the first quarter of the Packer game. Then you just forget about them until half time.

Melt two cups of semi sweet chocolate chips, which pretty much equals the whole bag. Spread on the top. Sit on your hands for about 15-20 minutes until the chocolate sets.

Dig In.

Die Happy.

 

CHUBBY HUBBY BARS

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temp
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups coarsely chopped pretzels
  • 1 (8oz) bag of Reese’s Mini cups (or 2 cups coarsely chopped full sized Reese’s) (Or 1.5 cups plain M&M’s)
  • 1 (14 oz) bag of caramels, unwrapped
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips, melted

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Spray a 9×13 pan  with cooking spray.
  3. Beat together your butter and sugars until light and fluffy.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla, mix until incorporated.
  5. Add in your salt, baking soda and flour, mixing until just combined.
  6. Add in your Reeses and Pretzels, mixing until evenly distributed.
  7. Spread in your  pan and bake for 25 minutes.
  8. Let cool completely. Approx 30 minutes to an hour.
  9. When cooled, melt your caramels and 1 Tbsp water in a microwave safe bowl stirring every minute until melted.
  10. Pour over your bars.
  11. Chill in fridge for 15 minutes to set caramel.
  12. Melt your chocolate chips in a double boiler or microwave and spread over caramel.
  13. Put back in the fridge for at least 30 minutes or until chocolate is set.
  14. Cut into squares when ready to serve.
About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chubby Hubby Bars

  1. Sara Myers says:

    Regan and I made two batches. We adjusted the recipe slightly by adding a bottle of very good champagne – perfect! Except that by the time we were on the second batch I was melting the caramels in the micro and discovered that it works better if you actually put the caramels into the micro to melt them….they don’t do so good just sitting on the counter 🙂

Leave a Reply

