Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts

OK!

Oops--forgot the vanilla and baking powder in this picture.

I know I have totally slacked off on posting this month, but it has been busy. Plus, we had to have our house re plumbed because the builders used some faulty pipe fitting thing and so I have had major construction here all week. Literally, my whole house was wrapped in plastic and I made fast friends with a guy named Mo. No oven, no dishwasher and no washing machine for the better part of a week.

AND….I was in a chili cook off at the church. Lost by 6 votes and then we come home and Mr. Right is saying how good the winners chili was. I was like “Did you vote for that chili?”

Deer.

In.

The.

Headlights.

I would definitely win a doughnut making contest or sure, plus this recipe totally makes up for my lack of October posting.

These are that good!

I used 3/4 cup of whole wheat in the recipe, plus subbed applesauce for the oil or added extra healthiness.

No way around the melted butter though. Sorry. If anyone discovers a suitable substitute for melted butter, call me ASAP.

Margarine is not acceptable.

Of course it helps if you have an enthusiastic assistant helping you with the doughnuts.

It will go so much more smoothly with help.

I promise.

Mix your dry ingredients together. I upped the spice amount, because I love spicy baked stuff.

Mix your wet ingredients and your brown sugar together. Use a whisk and just mix until combined or you will emulsify (or something) the pumpkin and they won’t bake. I know it’s a weird phenomenon, but I have seen it personally. It happened about 6 years ago with a different, but equally enthusiastic assistant.

You could use a muffin pan if you do not have a doughnut pan. You could also use a mini doughnut or mini muffin pan because mini always = less calories.

Remember these are baked and not fried, so they are super healthy. OH! And the whole wheat flour and applesauce, I forgot pumpkin is considered a super food too! Now I don’t feel so badly for eating two as fast as I could.

After baking, let them cool for a few minutes.

While they are cooling, mix your cinnamon and sugar together (heavy on the cinnamon) and melt your butter.

About this time, my assistant abandoned me to help Mr. Right clean out the garage. Approximately 4 minutes later she took a fish hook to the thumb and was back by my side.

Dip the doughnuts in the melted butter and attempt to shake off the excess. Dredge them back and forth in the cinnamon sugar mix until completely coated.

Eat as fast as you can

Have a great weekend! Off to walk the naughty dog and work off the doughnuts. I am thinking 2.5 miles per doughnut?

 

PUMPKIN SPICE DOUGHNUTS

For Donuts:
1 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/8 teaspoons ground cloves
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup milk

For Coating:
1/2 cup butter, melted
2/3 cup sugar
3 tablespoons cinnamon

Preheat oven 35o degrees

Spray your doughnut/muffin pan and set aside.

In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and spices together and set aside.

In a large bowl  whisk together oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, pumpkin and milk until combined. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the mixture and stir until just combined, careful not to over mix.

Fill each donut cup with the batter.  The donut cups should be fairly full, but not overflowing. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until donuts spring back when gently pressed (if you’re using a mini donut/muffin pan, allow them to bake for 9-10 minutes).  Turn donuts out onto a wire rack and allow to cool for a few minutes.

While the donuts are cooling, melt butter in one bowl and combine the sugar and cinnamon in another.  When donuts are still warm, quickly dip each donut in melted butter, then coat in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.  Serve immediately.

If you’re not going to serve the donuts immediately, you can bake them up to a day in advance and store them in an airtight container.  Do not coat them in the butter/cinnamon-sugar mixture until just before serving or they may get soggy.


About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

